Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
10
3.7 out of 5 stars
Home Taxidermy for Pleasure and Profit (Illustrated Edition)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 September 2011
I bought this book as a gift for my 17 year old friend. (Yes, a 17 year old interested in Taxidermy!)

I thought it would be more of a joke book, with humorous comments regarding taxidermy, however I was somewhat mistaken.

This book is actually a seriously thorough quality guide for beginner, and intermediate taxidermy. From cover to cover, this book contains many pages of in-depth instructions, and plenty of accompanying images. Written in a plain, easy to read - yet informative style. Perfect for the budding taxidermist.

I would recommend this to anyone, especially as a quirky gift to friends, whether or not they are interested in taxidermy. Who knows, this might give them a new hobby!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
A good little book though some of the chemicals such as Arsenic might be a little hard to come by these days (they do give an alternative!).

I think that a video / classroom course as well would be a good idea.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Ordered this as a present for a friend and was dissapointed with the print quality and images - looked like a photocopy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
I can never understand how out of date books are still being sold. I dont mind if they say so, so at least one knows. Yes this book shows you how to go about being a Taxidermist if we lived in victorian times. So if your looking for a book that has upto date information this is not the book, but if you just want to know what old time Taxidermist do then its not so bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Very detailed and have a good insight into my new interest. Gave lots of good advice for how to mount a range of animals in different styles. Easy to understand and read and very specific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
this book is old and some of the techniques have changed over the years but the principles are the same, it's a handy thing to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
My friend is really impressed with the information in this book. Brilliant gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Very small book disappointing. Not useable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Gift for a friend - he likes it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
I love this book, suits my sense of humour, especially about boiling a pound of arsenic in caustic soda (Available from any good hardware dealer)

Can't actually believe its genuine, but a good present for someone you:

a: Like very much and knows you, or
b: someone you DON'T like very much, but importantly THEN KEEP A LOW PROFILE or send it anonymously !

''''
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)