Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 14 October 2017
Recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
The content is great and easy to understand only problem I have is i can't seem to find the answers to the end of chapter questions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
The is the best pre-computer science introductory text I have came across. Its systematic approach to the subject is for the layman without any computing background. I recommend this book to anyone I would like to understand basic computer concepts or would like to pursuit a degree in computer science
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
I bought this book, after careful deliberation with myself(due to its price) last year, when I started my degree in Computer Science.
The book is easy to read, with lots of clarifying moments(when you exclaim 'Eureka') as something that was obscured before becomes cristal clear.

The structure, content, and pace are excellent. Though at first sight it may appear somewhat lengthy, by the time you finish it you will be left wanting more(so in effect it could be argued that it's short).

I learned LOTS by reading this book, and served very well as a refresher of things I already knew, and as a complement to the course materials I was studying at uni. It covers pretty much all the basic elements of computer science, with the exclusion of robotics, I think.

Most importantly, it doesn't assume much knowledge from part of the reader/student, and all information is presented in an approachable, entertaining, yet deep way.

There are many books on CS out there, and as an introductory text, this is one of the best. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Recommended to me by a Software Developer friend who said: "this book is a condensed version my 3-year Computer Science BSc!" Very well organised and easy to read. Full of colour & illustrations. Good focus on relevant topics. Comes with 1 year access to online e-book and questions which is a nice touch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
This is the only proper computer science book on the market and no matter what edition you buy it has all the foundations of computer science. Unlike the BTEC books which I found useless in a sense that they just talk about how to be a good computer technician or what to do to be successful when you work as a computer technician and they only touch the surface in a few areas of computer science.

So if you want a proper computer book rich with information and something that you can read and learn the fundamentals of computing then buy this one. I have worked for many years as a computing/IT lecturer, and looked at hundreds of books in the past and I can confidently recommend this book for all computing courses from level 1 to degree courses. A complete coverage of computer science at various levels. It is also a book that does not rely on a particular package or application program or operating system, so it never goes out of date - a book to keep for the years to come.

Another thing that impressed me about this book is the interesting way it is written that makes a very interesting reading material. It also contains many colour pictures and excellent illustrations. The quality of print is excellent too.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
excellent book..well presented and well written. ..a must for computer students or enthusiasts. ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
Computer Science Illuminated is a very resourceful book and has proven to be a great reference guide for some more abstract area of the Science of computational systems. Any computer science student, computer programmer, web developer or embedded system developer should have this book on their shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
You can learn much from this book its easy readable and understandable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Ideal and easy explanation of computer science. Especially for those who wish to understand computer technology. My daughter used it to undertake an MSc in IT and found it invaluable. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)