Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31


on 24 January 2015
A good reference for most common tasks but if you don't know anything about bash you will need to buy some additional books. Since the publication is from 2010 some items are outdated and Shellshock not even mentioned. The introduction into bash is just slightly covered. An up to date and more comprehensive publication would be a better buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2014
I use it on a daily basis, good way to avoid having to "man" every commend you don't know about. Excellent little book, you won't learn how to script with it, but if you are learning following some ind of online tutorial, it will definitely help you understand what you are doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2012
If you use linux systems then chances are that you use shell. If that is the case then I definitely would recommend this pocket size Bourne-again shell reference book. I was not disappointed. It has all of what you want to learn BASH in two weeks or less..."A Linux Developer must have..."
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
I always keep these little books handy. Excellent, concise reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2017
love the handly little book of tricks, great quick read and easy to follow snip its
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2017
Very useful and use it a fair bit!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2014
This book is a real boon for the experienced user that can't quite remember how to do something, or can't quite recall how that command functions. I use this book regularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2015
Really nice little pocket book. It does as it says, I would not use this a s a complete guide, but useful to keep on a desk for a quick look up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2016
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
its a good book to carry around and read on the metro and get a quick refresher course. Its not comprehensive but of course its a pocket book. it does what its intended to do: as a quick reference. I would not recommend it to someone new to shells, some experience would help. Wish there were little bit more examples in it though explaining some of the commands. The writing style is not that great, not fluid enough. But great little book for a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)