Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2015
A good reference for most common tasks but if you don't know anything about bash you will need to buy some additional books. Since the publication is from 2010 some items are outdated and Shellshock not even mentioned. The introduction into bash is just slightly covered. An up to date and more comprehensive publication would be a better buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I use it on a daily basis, good way to avoid having to "man" every commend you don't know about. Excellent little book, you won't learn how to script with it, but if you are learning following some ind of online tutorial, it will definitely help you understand what you are doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
This is a book that does what it says on the tin. It gives the reader a wealth of keywords and commands. This book however is not for the faint hearted. It can be seen as a bit clunky and heavy. On the other hand I can understand why so many see this book as a UNIX Bible.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
If like me you are a UNIX administrator then this is a great reference book to keep you in touch with the commonalities between various flavours of UNIX (trust me, there are more flavours than you realise)and for those starting out this is an invaluable handbook to help you on the road to discovering UNIX, its idiosyncracies and it's potential over other operating systems.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Very useful and use it a fair bit!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
This book is a real boon for the experienced user that can't quite remember how to do something, or can't quite recall how that command functions. I use this book regularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
I bought this for a family member who is an apprentice computer programmer. He specially requested it having browsed a number of other reference books but decided this one was the most comprenensive and easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Really nice little pocket book. It does as it says, I would not use this a s a complete guide, but useful to keep on a desk for a quick look up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
When I recently needed a Unix reference book, I bought this on Amazon sight unseen, knowing that the "In a Nutshell" books tend to deliver. And I was not disappointed - this is the sort of comprehensive, clear reference that a newish Unix developer needs, but that will still be useful for even the most experienced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)