Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
15
4.0 out of 5 stars
AngularJS
Format: Paperback|Change


on 14 August 2014
It's a book that targets the beginner with Angular. Javascript knowledge or experience is required before buying this book. It starts slowly with a few nice examples showing the power of Angular. But a whole chapter is about frameworks and tools to be used when programming and testing with Angular. The framework Yeoman, which the authors are quite fond of, didn't work out of the box for me. I had to google for tips on permission problems with NPM. Other frameworks were mentioned with a few examples, but to understand the possibilities of these frameworks separate reading is required. The only thing that was mentioned was: This framework is great, look into it, use Yeoman. And that's it. But how Grunt, Karma and Bower is to be configured and used (since it is used by Yeoman) remains unexplained. That's okay, but I wouldn't mention these frameworks myself.

Later an example is worked out, but then the author immediately goes into separate advanced Angular techniques without explaining them properly in advance. The step from simple data-binding and directives to advanced routing and services using promises is quite big.

The book is a first step for beginners of Angular. It's useful but looking up information on the net on how stuff works is unavoidable since the book does not explain it properly. Watching (free) Youtube tutorials might be a better approach learning Angular.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Because its got two authors, the chapters differ in style, so some chapters are excellent, whereas others mediocre or worse. Its annoying that one of them says "its easy" and then present some hard to understand code and keep on saying its "awesome", what would be awesome is if they had included a few diagrams as the book suffers from not even one diagram showing what's going on this is a real weakness and think the authors simply didn't make enough effort. It's hard to understand and have had to read the book twice, but on the whole it is worth getting hold of and going through.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Well written and well balanced book. Good grounding in the basics as well as intermediate challenges and solutions. Only thing hay could improve it. OSA few diagrams to illustrate the moving parts together so you can see how they interact. As a more traditional MVC user it took me a while to figure out the exact role of controllers,services and modules. However there are plenty of these on the net now so I can self serve :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
I bought this book when it was a year old and already Angular had had several breaking releases meaning some examples in this book didn't work. It was a good starter read though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
I had been looking at a number of books and videos whilst trying to get into Angular and wanted something concise and to the point. I also wanted example code that was concise and reinforced the principles as you progressed through the book. I had another book Mastering Web Applications with Angular that whilst good lacked example code. For me this book ticked all the boxes. I find I can read it without being in front of a computer and take in the subject matter which is a bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I have fully read this book [ i dont often cover to cover a tech book ]. I have been able to retroactively apply the clean and consise explaination to my prior angularjs apps. And they are all the better for the refactors!

Recommended this book to friends prior to cutting your first angular app - as it just makes you for effective when you do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I've tried a couple of angular books and this was the best by far. Useful code to accompany book. Goes through basics, structuring, testing and a lot of angular features.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
A well-written and short book avoiding fluff ideal for a serious developer wanting to use Angular.

Miles better than the current online documentation;

Good on the philosophy of Angular too. Only lacking more advanced detail - I could happily used 50% more of this stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Pragmatic view of Angular. Particularly like the explanations for using directives and the focus throughout on unit testing. This should help the reader produce robust and well tested apps
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
great book, easy to read and follow. Good for angular beginners, not JS beginners. Would recommend as a first step
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)