Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2012
Even though there is a lot of good information about this device on the internet, I think this book just fills in the gaps and explains things better. 699 pages of very useful information.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
This book is a must buy. Although an amazing amount of information is available for the Arduino on the Internet much of the code I've found relates to Arduino IDE versions earlier than the version 1.0.1 I'm using. Almost every time I struggle to get something working e.g. posting to a Google spreadsheet, this book provides the information that I failed to find online. It is so well written and covers a huge arrange of topics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Lots of detailed projects and solutions to problems in both hardware and software. Covers just about anything you can think of doing with hardware diagrams, text descriptions and code examples. My go-to book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
This is the ultimate book when we talk Arduino ...... Everything is here.... I needed an aftermarket controller for an Eberspächer diesel car-heater and wondered if such a thing could actually be made by an idiot like me .... After a couple of days reading and some fun with my soldering iron, I have a working circuit .....Wonderful and the heat is on.

Leif ...the Viking
Denmark
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
This is a good book and has a pretty good set of recipies for playing with your Arduino. It misses out a couple of useful shileds namely the WiFly shield, leaving you to figure it out yourself. However, the tools and tenchniques taught will help you on your way.

It is nice to see the section on Pachube with this your Arduino will fly.

For initial learning, the standard set of tutorials is all you need and the book awknowledges this, instead it focusses on useful little recipies that can be combined to create your project. If you have an Arduino you should probably have this book for a little light bedtime reading :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
This title purports to take you from being a complete novice at Arduino programming to being able to design sketches and understanding them step by step.
The usual claim of you need know nothing to start etc, falls foul of the book written by an expert knowing too much to write a beginners book.
It starts by failing to introduce the basic syntax and grammar of the programming code and then fails to explain the process of actually writing the code.
The book starts with a few simple examples, that I managed by referring to online sources to understand, unfortunately from there it went straight to highly complex sketches that were impossible to understand.
If this was rocket science, it would start with November 5th rockets (without telling you that you need matches) then straight on to launching a Saturn V to the moon.
So for the beginner a totally useless book.
I have now found other books that do the job and am now programming proficiently, it's a shame I wasted my money on this one first.
44 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Can't say I love because I'm not a computing fan. Is proving to be quite helpful though, the layout does make it slightly confusing, but the use of examples is very helpful and easy going
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
This is a very good, comprehensive book. It certainly won't teach you how to program but definitely can inspire you when you're stuck coding. A typical reference book. Easy 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
The book is very good and helpful. It contains a good amount of info which should help most people get going, or find the missing piece of the puzzle in their project. Pleased I went for it.

Also I went for the kindle version, but there's a link in the book that takes you to O'Reilly's site and allows you to upgrade to a DRM free version for US$4.99 which is around £3.30. This is great if you want to read it on a none kindle device, and worked our cheaper than going straight to O'Reilly and buying it direct from them. Hope that's of use to someone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Everything that you need for your Arduino projects. The best collection of Arduino sketches, and a good reference for the robot builders
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)