Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2013
I read this book while preparing for the CCDH exam. It's a solid all around book covering several different areas of the Hadoop ecosystem. However, it shouldn't be the first book someone reads about Hadoop. For that purpose maybe Hadoop in Action is a better fit. Once you get the high level of what Hadoop is all about, you can proceed with this book, keeping in mind that for every page in the book there is 5-10X amount of info available online.
It's a good book for covering the breadth and getting into quite some depth in each topic if you are willing to extend from the examples provided. It gets into quite some depth with aspects that matter like the inner workings of Mapper/Shuffle+Sort/Reducer etc.
Missed the 5th star for not covering the 2.0 info or even the annotations behind the API evolution which is a big point for newcomers to the ecosystem.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Excellent book. I was new to Java and Unix so needed some help from other books along the way to be able to run the examples here, but got there in the end. Great that it covers Java MapReduce, Pig and Hive as well as showing how to get HDFS up and running to try it for yourself. Not an easy subject, but the book was a huge help.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
This book sets out to cover the entire Hadoop environment, it's a big book but that's a massive subject and it'd be a major challenge to cover in one book. As a result that majority of the book is on the core of Hadoop, HDFS and classic MapReduce. The sections on Pig, Hive and HBase feel tacked on and aren't in any where near as much depth as the initial section of the book. Because it's a 2012 book, it also ignores some of the newer technologies like Spark and Impala.

So it's a good introduction to Hadoop, but a long way short of being "The Definitive Guide".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
At the first time I was little unsure about this one because comments were a little bit confusing. However I am happy that most part of comments weren't true. Having almost no information and knowledge about Hadoop I was able to understand everything and would like to recommend it to all the Hadoop beginners.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
I was looking for a book that explained Hadoop & HDFS with some technical depth to understand the practical implications of building solutions on Hadoop with a starting point of unix skills, data-warehousing but zero knowledge of Hadoop or MapReduce.
This book definitely meets the bill. It provides clear explanations of HDFS, MapReduce, HIVE, HBASE and more both in terms of what how they work and what they are good for but also provides some technical Java based examples (which I have largely skipped through). The book also covers real world implementations showing various patterns used by major Hadoop consumers that make use of the various toolsets which for me helped to cement the ideas and strengths of the various elements.
I have already recommended this book to others.
The only reason for not rating it higher is that I cannot yet testify to the quality of the code samples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
I've found this book to be the perfect kickstarter for a novice in Hadoop (previous technical skills prerequisite though).
It features a balanced coverage of concepts, architecture, planning, programming, deployment, administration and to a small extent, tuning.
I think the book does a good service to the technology covering it from a multitude of aspects to show integration capabilities and demonstrating its versatility.
I like the author's ability to lead readers of various thinking habits (relational, OOAD, dimensional) into discovering Hadoop by starting from one's own comfortable perspective.
If there is only one thing I'd improve - make clearer the importance of writing a smart Map Reducer, provide a formal definition of what makes a function compliant with the Combiner and provide tips&tricks on writing effective Map Reducers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Great if you are getting started with Hadoop - easy to read and with some good examples the book has really helped me gain the deeper insight and understanding of Hadoop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Very detailed and well written book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Does what it says on the tin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)