Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2013
There isn't anything technically wrong with the book. However it could have been written in half the space. Chapters seem to drag out the blindingly obvious. I had hoped for many more atmospheric experiments.

Trawl for sensors on your local e bay add on web support and you can do all that's in the book. So its a handy reference of the usual Make stable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Well written, researched and presented. Informative and an easy read. I've learnt quite a few things by reading this book.

Well done :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
I bought this book along with the Make: Getting started with Arduino, both are excellent books. The projects in this book range from nice simple ideas, to a Geotagged Geiger counter (Not a high priority for a lot of people, unless you live in a region where things get a bit hairy at times), a bit more on I2C sensors would have been nice as my first project uses these, but can't complain. The book is sensibly pitched at total beginners like myself and at the price is spot on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Informative and a good introduction to Arduino devices. Good value and quick to download, A worthwhile addition to my Kindle library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
If you're interested in environmental monitoring, I would have thought you would start by measuring temperature, humidity, air pressure, rainfall, wind speed and direction. But apparently no, none of those are covered.
However if you want to know the concentration of gases in the air or the colour of the sky(?), you'll be an expert by the end of this book. It takes about 20 minutes to read and is very American in references to where to buy components.
At £1.50 is not expensive but then again, I didn't find it at all useful either.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
I have received these books but they are so thin that the price paid is an absolute robbery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
For those new to the capabilities of the Arduino this is a great inexpensive intro. Lot's of good code examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
This is a short book and it's targetted at the relative novice to using microcontrollers and sensors. The projects in the book start simple and build into more complex examples. Each project is the same with intermediate steps where you can test your progress and see the devices working. The example sensors are good and should give options for most and the concluding project even uploads data to the internet.

I bought this on the kindle and the time it will save me is well worth the money paid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I've have many O'Reilly / MAKE books and usually they are excellent. Unfortunately this is a bit disappointing. In particular the figures are of a low quality and it is difficult to see what is going on in some of the wiring configurations. My main issue, however, is that there is little in the way of code walk-throughs. The projects are OK but there are many more interesting environmental project on-line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)