Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2013
Informative and a good introduction to Arduino devices. Quick to download on my Mac devices. Worthwhile addition to my Kindle library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Quite a few people have given this book a five or four star review (more so on the Amazon US site than the UK site).

So why am I giving it a one star review?

It seems mean to give it such a low rating as it's quite a cute little book.

However I suspect two distinct groups of reader are going to buy this book - and one of those groups should steer clear.

This book may appeal to people who want to light up LEDs but never really liked maths and have never seen a resistor.

However if you have even the most basic idea about programming - assigning values to variables and calling simple functions - and are vaguely aware of things like resistors then this book is NOT for you.

It's just too simple - there is absolutely no maths (some might say great). One formula is introduced in passing (V = IR) but is never actually used. You just build the circuits as shown - you're given the what-part but not the why-part.

So while the purpose of some parts in a given circuit are obvious, e.g. an LED that you want to switch on and off, the supporting parts, e.g. resistors, are shown but why they are needed is not explained.

Basically this is a set of recipes which you can run through quickly with a child or a very non-technically inclined person.

I bought this book as I thought it might be a good refresher on basic electronics before going onto more advanced material. But if you've seen a resistor before, even if you've forgotten everything about them and voltage and current, and done a little simple programming then you already know as much as this book will teach you.

You're better off going for the much larger Arduino Cookbook, also from O'Reilly, note that this book too can be used by people who have no knowledge of programming (this is handled in a self contained module of the book that can be skipped by those who can already program).

If the Cookbook looks a bit too hefty and dense to start with then I'd recommend The Arduino Starter Kit (lots of people are supplying different starter kits now but I mean the one actually produced by Arduino - which oddly isn't available via Amazon) - it includes a much better book that covers a set of simple introductory projects that cover way more things (and the kit includes all the parts you'll need) along with more discussion of what is going on without being scary (an adventurous child, who's already a bit interested in computers and motors etc., would have little problem with it).

This book may be a good book for a certain audience but if you're even the slightest bit geeky look elsewhere.

To be fair in the book itself it has an "Intended Audience" section where the author states "This book is written for the 'original' Arduino users: designers and artists. Therefore, it tries to explain things in a way that might drive some engineers crazy." I'd be inclined to say though that there's very little explanation full stop.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
Having purchased this book the £12.00 I spent on it would have been better spent on a set of servos.

The book is mostly padded out with unnecessary waffle and as for the examples these are already supplied with in the Arduino programming software. The information from the official arduino.cc website far eclipses what is available in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
I think this is a very accessible introduction for someone wanting to 'get started in Arduino' (!?)
It gives you a bit of history and the philosophy behind Arduino straight from the horses mouth (the author being one of the founders of Arduino).
Some very basic and bite sized electronic theory is explained and then you are straight in being taught by actually doing, some of the masses of things that you can er? do with Arduino!
I feel that the low ratings are by reviewers that should never have bought an introductory book in the first place.
That said it's a small book and when I'm ready I'll be buying a book at more advanced level but I'm not knocking this one at all.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This is the second book in this series that I ordered together. This book has 118 pages. The first 16 pages, are some cartoon figures and I just can't see how they are useful for a beginner! From page 95 to the end, is just the index, advertisements and C-keywords. The rest of the book is badly explained, there are no clear explanation of the tasks, NO real circuit diagrams, flowcharts but hand drawings of breadboard and the Arduino board. There are far better Arduino exercises and tutorials available in many web sites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I'm an experienced programmer but an absolute beginner when it comes to electronics and what I wanted was something that would help me with the electronics. This book doesn't really go into enough detail for me but does labour the programming too much for my needs. Maybe I'm being unfair because of my particular needs. This would be a great book for someone with little or no programming or electronics experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
This book does indeed 'get you started', but it leaves you wanting a lot more description and detail on the programming code. I also felt that there could be more detail on 'the sorts of things you can do with an Arduino'. Overall, a good first port of call for the subject, but you will want to read more widely to get fully up to speed. Suitable for those completely lacking in technical knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Does what it says on the cover, it provides an sound introduction to building projects with arduino.
well happy with this one.
After reading this I spent more time on the internet adding to my recently gained knowledge..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
This book is ok not earth shattering, able to dip in and out and begins to educate the reader on what the arduino is and how to use it. You will need to do more reading to be fully competent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Good as a first book explaining the basics of electronic circuits and Arduino programming. Gives clear advice and an excellent grounding for novices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)