Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2015
This book was first published in 2002.
It is also being advertised as a 'pre-order' (June 2016) so caveat emptor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2002
Lets face it - when you write something as amazing as the Nights Dawn Trilogy, its always going to be hard work with any follow up books!!
I enjoyed this book, even though I feel it may be unrealistic in its presentation of politics in the near futre. Some people have criticised his opinion of the political circumstances in this book, but he has presented similar situations in his previous work very well, so maybe we should cut him some slack. I do think that it is a well written piece, with Peters own sense of humour and irony shining through!
I love the technological and military aspect of his previous books, and was quite surprised to see such a departure from these topics, but even so, I would recommend it to people who dont have the expectations of those who have read NDT or the Mandel series - then get them to read some earlier stuff and let them know what they missed out on!!
Even though many may consider this a bit of a disappointment, Peter is still far and away the best SF writer Britain has produced for many a year - lets hope he keeps it up!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I'm not fair, but i love Hamilton's books, so i'm enjoying this one as much as the others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
This isn't a very bad book which is why I have not given it 1 star, also the fact that Hamilton remains one of my favorite authors has something to do with it. That being said this is by far his weakest offering. Aside from the final third of the book there is no real story to hold interest. Basically it reads a little like the combination of Tom and Jeff's secret diaries detailing the sexual encounters they both have and little else.

The only reason to even consider reading this is that it is the very start of the commonwealth series which are in my opinion Hamiltons best offering to date however there is nothing of great importance to be had from this dull tedious "story"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2002
Like other reviewers I am and remain a fan of the authors work to date . This novel is a great idea poorly implemented though- a political diatribe , SF or bad soft porn.-its not clear which! It feels rushed and thin and somewhat adolescent towards female characters, a common theme in his work actually in Fallen Dragon and Nights Dawn although overall these previous works were excellent . Is there some thing in the Rutland water or what? I hope this was a filler to satisfy a publisher whilst a new magnum opus appears in 2003 -and lets have another Greg Mandel I say!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2008
Compared to Hamiltons other books this one is definately lightweight, but for all that it's a pretty good, and certainly an easy, read. There were a number of things he could have done but didn't bother. The expanded/updated and obviously unpopular EU were mentioned, but just barely; the politics of this could have been explored. The politics, science and morality of his rejuve could have been explored. Overall weak, but not actually bad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2006
What can I say, I liked the first half of the book but then I really really struggled to finish it, I was so bored!
Jeff gets a second chance at Youth but he cannot find anything else better than to take his son's girlfriend and the only thing this book is about is the conflict between father and son.
This book was a bitter disappointment. It is such a shame as I usually enjoy his books but that one is a "no-go"!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Enjoyed the book, but others by the same author are excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2002
It's a fresh start for both the main character and the author.
Set in the very near future this is a departure from form for the author. Jeff Baker is the father of the datasphere, a network that replaces our Internet. He is a husband to a glamorous wife many years his junior and father to a son he was too old to enjoy a normal relationship with.
When he's given a chance to literally recapture his youth what follows is a comedy of manners. Think Jane Austin in the 21st century and you won't be too far wrong.
Hamilton fans may initially be disappointed with the lack of grand designs and cinematic battles but the author's indulging himself here with his proven talent for introducing us to three dimensional characters.
The son, Tim, is the most realised of these. His reactions and motivations struck very close to home for me. Mr Hamilton's recollections of teenage life, albeit in the 21st century, were terribly accurate.
What he gives us though is a thoughtful look at the implications of a modern day fountain of youth on all levels, personal, social and political. The technology described could be with us in a generation so this is a timely novel.
The downside, there's always one, is that he's placed this story too close to our modern world. He's wearing his politics on his sleeves and while I happen to agree with them they still grate slightly.
The references to our current world also make me think this isn't so much a work of fiction at times, more a speculation on what should happen.
Overall though I enjoyed it. Lightweight by Mr Hamilton's standards I really hope he comes back to this new playground to develop it and as I've said in other reviews, write faster! He's one of the best talents in the genre at the moment and his next book can't come too soon.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2004
This is quite a departure from his last work (The Nights Dawn Trilogy and Fallen Dragon. It is set around 40 year in the future. The European Union has evolved into a federal state with an english president. The European goverment want something its citizens are proud of to stop the growing wave of sepratism. A old celebrity, the inventor of the Datanet (which replaced the Internet) undergoes a procedure that enables him to regain his youth. This is the story of how he has to deal with it. His friends are 3 times older than him. His son is the same age. And he discovers his libido, much to his sons horror. Additionally, he represents the success of the European state and has to deal with the concequences of this in the face of separatist hostility. Peter Hamilton weaves an interesting story but there are not as many of his trademark story twists in this one, it is an emotional rollercoater about being young again and doing all the things you should have done the first time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse