Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
271
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Boys In The Boat
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 March 2017
Once I began reading this I simply couldn't put it down. Superb writing done with a gentle sensitivity......but also managed to add great excitement when describing the many races.
The wise quotes at the start of each chapter were inspiring. There are so many friends that will receiving copies of this book as a gift. Must be passed on!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
This is the most amazing story about rowing. It captures the very heart and soul of the sport. If you row you will empathise with it on every level and feel the highs and lows as if they're your own If you don't and wonder why rowers are so passionate about their sport, this will show you why.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
The book covers the central character, Joe Rantz's journey to Olympic glory in Berlin in 1936. It helps if you are conversant with some rowing terminology but it isn't essential.
It is meticulously researched and written in an easy, flowing style.
The last chapter and the epilogue bring tears to the eyes as, by this stage, you almost feel as though you were part of the crew.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
All my rowing friends should read this. The descriptions are compelling and really bring the rowing to life.
The juxtaposition of the rowing story with the story of the ride of Nazi Germany really makes you think. I had no idea of the positive impression Hitler had originally managed to give.
It's an amazing book, a truly inspiring story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Rowing is tough, really tough, particularly when you come from the wrong side of the river! Good, true, story, well told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
An unexpected absorbing read ..both for the greater understanding of the art of rowing and of the political situation at that time in the U.S.A and Germany
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Superb book. A heartening story about hardwork and dedication winning, rather than privilege and wealth. Very interesting too as the subject was entirely new to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Hugely enjoyable. As a rower I found this book fascinating, but it's the stories behind the crew members and coaches in this book which is so inspiring. Would you get something from this book if you were a not rower? Undoubtedly...... if you understand human endeavour and the ability to succeed against the odds you will find this book uplifting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Very inspirational story - I couldn't out it down - maybe having an interest in rowing helps
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Such a great true story and the author told it wonderfully. I couldn't put the book down and was thoroughly engrossed throughout. Made sure I had peace and quiet for the thrilling ending. Just a great story of what can be achieved against all odds, so many things stacked against Joe Rantz throughout his life, but he met every challenge put before him. Never give up, never defeated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)