Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 April 2012
Picked this up on the spur of the moment to take on a trip to the Peak Distruct, expecting a kind of hill walking Cider With Roadies. But in fact it's a collection of short columns Maconie wrote for Country Walking magazine. Ruminations on various aspects of walking. Individually they are fine, but reading them back to back you start to long for something a bit more substantive.

What it is definitely not is "Stuart Maconie's Favourite Country Walks", it's a book for the bedside or the loo, not to guide your next venture into the hills.

Maconie writes well, and there is much pleasure to be had from these short pieces. But the large format paperback - and price for a book in which every 3rd page is a title page - feels like pushing it a bit. 1 star deducted for feeling a trifle ripped off.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
If you think this is a book about the Quantocks, think again! Most of the (short, and rather unstaisfying) pieces are about the Lake District. So fine if that is what you want, but rather tedious for those whose walking takes in other parts of the country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Inspires you to get your walking boots out and hit the hills. Short articles to dip into, pick up and put down anytime you have a few spare minutes. I love the references to literature, art and music - walking is expanding the soul, not just covering the miles. Entertaining for anyone from armchair devotees of the British countryside to dedicated fell walkers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I really like Stuart Maconie, his writing, broadcasting, everything - which is why I was so disappointed by this. The cover says 'How hillwalking can change your life' which suggests it is a single piece of work which moves (ambles, rambles possibly) towards that conclusion. In reality it is series of short, and sadly repetitive, articles written for a magazine. There's nothing particularly wriong with the articles but it ends up being a very unsatisfactory read with every one finishing shortly after getting started. It should really say 'Collected writings or similar on the cover. A real pity.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
I love anything written by Stuart Maconie. This book is not quite what I expected though. Rather than being a completely new entity, it is a collection of his previously published magazine articles. None the worse for that mind. Each is a separate little gem, with all the erudition, variety and good sense that we expect from Stuart.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I have enjoyed Stuart Maconie's books for a good while now, previously being aware of him as a journalist and broadcaster. This book brings together a collection of his essays from Country Walking magazine. And it does not disappoint, in his witty, pithy, easy yet knowledgeable style.

This is a book to encourage newcomers to walking, but also to bring a new energy to seasoned lovers of farm track and moor, mountain and canal side.

Read, enjoy, and get out there.

Brian James
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed and recommended it to other fellow keen walkers Lots of mentions of familiar places that I have been to many times not all the regular touristy places at all but places really off the beaten tracks - the really nice places! I learnt lots about things but also smiled all the way through as it was pleasant reminders of all things good in the world and motivated me to go out and about. His pure enthusiasm just flowed through - fantastic
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Another classic from Maconie. Hilarious, heart warming and touching as ever. It has made me want to rush out and buy some boots and get walking!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2016
I enjoyed Maconie's book 'Pies and Prejudice' so was looking forward to another chuckling good read. Unfortunately, that's not what I got from this book. Focusing mainly on Lake District walks the essays appear to be all about paying homage to A.W. - with a few funny events thrown in to justify the publication of Maconie's muses. The cover describes the book as: "...hilarious and heart-warming..." In my opinion it fails to deliver on both counts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Ultimately a disappointment. Using column material for a book is rarely wise, and this no exception. The articles were not written to flow like a book and it shows. What you are left with is a collection of short and very repetitive articles which are too short for the book format. There is no doubt about the authors credentials and ability, but look elsewhere to find it since this is too unsatisfying...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)