Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20


on 10 March 2014
Excellent book for anyone on the Mentorship Preparation Programme!
I have just finished the course and found this book very helpful when writing my assignment - it came highly recommended and I will now pass the same advice on.
I used it as a resource several times throughout the assignment and it was money well spent!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2014
Description:

This is a well thought through guide for a nurse mentor as a novice or requiring a refresher.
The authors have researched this subject well and make no assumptions on the reader by staring at the very beginning and defining what a mentor is and what constitutes a good learning environment. This book allows the reader to either use the whole book as a guide or to be able to select a specific subject or chapter to focus on.
Mentoring can be either a good experience for the student or not so good and for mentors being guided through this well written book will instil confidence and enthusiasm for life long learning.

Highlights:

This book is so easy to follow is well set out and makes good and accurate reference to the Nursing and midwifery council (NMC). Within each section there are activities for the mentor and evidenced based answers also. The book is well referenced at the end of the book.
The authors are both academics in a UK university both with interests in nurse education.
The fact that the mentor has this book as a guide and can plan for the student and ensure that they have actions to achieve, it will ensure that student leaves that particular placement with a good grounding in that ward/clinical area and not only will the student be equipped to move on but that they will have gained a solid learning experience. So often when that occurs the student make a better nurse and may want to join the team when they qualify.

Strengths & weaknesses:

This is such a valuable guide with references to nurse education and models of learning and teaching. The book also advises the mentor when things go wrong or when a particularly challenging student is placed in the mentors work area.
The very fact that it is well written by academics within nurse education ensures this is a well grounded achievable book to follow.
The case studies well extremely real and thought provoking.

Potential Readers:

This book is a must for both the novice and experienced mentor, there will always be room to improve and reflect on how a nurse is mentoring students
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2011
The book is very good and is an excellent source of research information. Well written in an easy to understand language.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2012
I have started my mentoring training and found this book ideal.recommended from the university. It is brilliant.
Its easy to use and follow and has great guide to successful mentoring.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2014
Bought this after starting the mentorship course at university. It's pure brilliance. Each chapter tells you which domains it covers which came in very useful for compiling my portfolio and writing my assignment. I also came I very handy when I had a challenging student at risk of failing. There was loads of advice on how I could try to find out the reasons for her failing and what could be done to turn her practice around. She is doing much better now. Everyone I have shown my book to wants one too. Inclusing those that have been mentoring for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2013
A really useful resource for any member of staff who wishes to know more about mentoring and more importantly how to become a brilliant mentor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
She seems happy enough with the book, although it was a compulsory requirement for a uni course shes doing, so it's hardly a recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2013
easy to follow, just what is needed for the course. Would recommend it to anyone thinking of doing the course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2013
used it to write my essay. easy to read and follow. a great book foe anyone doing their nursing mentorship
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)