Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2009
Knight examines the ethos of Forest School and through several case studies, she shares her experiences of a number of Forest Schools operating in the UK. She challenges the reader to explore their own impressions on the Scandinavian derived concept. This method of education has blossomed in many rural areas in the UK and is reaching out to more urban centres.
The book suggests that we still have a lot to learn from our Scandinavian counterparts with respect to societal norms, public attitudes and outdoor play, which invariably play a major part in them leading happier and healthier lives. However, she notes all is not lost in the UK, further improvements are being made in Education as a more diversified range of professionals provide input in government educational policies. In addition, the efforts and achievements by UK settings, particularly in deprived areas and urban spaces across the UK should not be overlooked.
Particular emphasis is placed on the unrivalled learning opportunities and universal benefits of Forest School in the foundation stage and beyond through the play-based and child- initiated and led learning which is supported by facilitative adult role models. Ample information is provided on Forest School training, site selection, risk assessing, kit and good practice. This book provides a valuable resource for anyone wanting to set up a Forest School or gain a deeper understanding on the practise it entails.

Review by Katherine Milchem (Forest School Co-ordinator in South West London and the Chair of the FEI London South West Cluster Group)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Super book, full of good information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
I felt this book could have delivered more. The examples were interesting and relevant but perhaps due to the fact there were elements for discussion at the end of each chapter it often tended not to get to the point. Perhaps read within a group setting more interesting debates would take place? So unfortunately, for me, a little disappointing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2009
Looks like all your Forest School essays shoud be made a lot easier with this purchase !!!!! As someone who has completed the course ,i think this would have been of some assistance .
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
I am doing an HBC Early Years and Education course just now and as part of this I had to do a project on outdoor nurseries. This book was a great help to me as before I read it, I never knew outdoor nurseries existed. The book gave me an insight into what outdoor nurseries were and what activities the children were able to do there
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Book came very promptly and I am very pleased with it.
Goes into the history and theory of forest Schools and lots of good practical ideas to get you started.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Read the whole book, love it, full of inspiration and a thoroughly enjoyable read, gives a good all round picture of forest school for the early years. will buy more books from this author, actually I have one on its way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
this text give a background to outdoor play and the benefits it brings Forest schools is about using the outdoor environment and its natural resources to support learning, and not just taking the indoors outside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
I used this for a project at college and I really enjoyed reading it. There isn't that much books on forest schools so this is a great find! I recommend to anyone wanting to learn more about Forest Schools.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Very informative. This book will prove very useful in the near future as I am hoping to start working with children in an outdoor setting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)