Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2013
This, in my opinion, is an ideal reference book for teaching mathematics in primary school and was recommended in the reading list from my Uni, and by other teachers that I work with. It's clearly set out and has explanations and activities throughout. It's easy to read and understand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Another invaluable resource for ITT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
very useful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Good delivery and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
While trying to find out why so many children (and adults) describe themselves as "No good at Maths" I have looked at dozens of books which suggest methods which, the authors claim, will help learning. However, they do not try to explain why so many people struggle with maths.

This book is brilliant. It takes you step-by-step through the component parts of learning 'maths' and explains why students can get confused.

The majority of 'experts' who claim to advise on maths do not seem to understand the reasons why the pupils are struggling and simply offer their own 'good ideas'. Haylock and Cockburn are (almost) in a class of their own.

The sheer complexity of maths suggests that primary maths should be taught either by trained experts who understand the process or by untrained teachers who follow scripted lessons.

As Zig Engelmann says: "If the student doesn't learn, the teacher hasn't taught." The high number of young people who leave school "No good at maths" is a preventable scandal and caused by a teaching profession who fail to understand the subject they are teaching.

My only disappointment is the absence of any reference to 'number sense' - the non-conscious 'knowing how many', (or how much) which is essential for success in maths. Very weak number-sense creates dyscalculia.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
A very clearly written and well presented explanation of early maths concepts. It informs the teaching of maths, giving reasons for errors and difficulties. Very useful examples and activities to follow.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
A very detailed book aimed at teachers being able to understand the importance of the many ranges of view points and learning positions of children when they are involved with mathematics.Also detailing the key ideas and concepts behind maths and its place in our lives and the lives of young children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
If undergoing the PGCE this book is a must! Slightly overwhelming and complicated at first but if you keep going its extremely useful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
Every teacher of maths should read this book! It is well-structured and easy to read and helps you understand the fundamental building blocks that you need to make children aware of, so they can correctly construct their own understanding of numbers. I thought I knew quite a bit about maths but this book helped me realize why some of my year 5 children are struggling with doing simple word problems. Actually, it gave me LOTS of reasons why they might be struggling, as well as a variety of activities I can adapt to help them change some of their misconceptions.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
This book is essential reading for all teachers. Whether you have an interest in mathematics or not. It really shows how understanding and relational thinking are at the heart of both mathematics and teaching as a whole.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)