Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2017
Surprised how small the book was for the money
But helpful book for my presentation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I have used Nutshell books down through the years when beginning different subjects. My tactic was to avoid spending weeks or months attempting to find the Gist or the Ratio Decidendi of the subject. Like everyone else I would then go on and study the subject knowing I was working on solid proven ground.

This nutshell is more hazy and penumbral than the textbooks. I was unable to find what the central issue in Gestalt was.

Possibly an average synopsis of the subject. But a very poor nutshell.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
I am a Gestalt therapist and so hope this review holds some merit for those training or interested in Gestalt.
The writer has captured the essence of Gestalt perfectly.
I found this book very easy to read. I recommend it to all levels of learning and for the interested reader. You don't get bogged down in jargon and language. It covers in depth a complicated theory and yet the use of uncomplicated language makes it very simple to read.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
This is an excellent introduction to Gestalt counselling for beginners and stimulating revision for more experienced practitioners. Houston has a refreshing style that is both accessible and unconventional. Drawing on a wide range of ideas - from both within and without classical Gestalt thinking - Houston illuminates this fascinating, provocative and powerful therapeutic approach.

The book covers all the important concepts of Gestalt psychology, and shows how they inter-weave and relate. There's lots of case discussion and well-thought out examples of how to put theory into practice, often with verbatim passages. Gestalt Counselling in a Nutshell is both comprehensive and, consistent with Houston's previous publications, there are no wasted words, repetitive themes or unnecessarily drawn out sections.

Houston has cracked a very good nut indeed!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Highly recommended as a useful tool for those at the beginning stages of studying various approaches to counselling. Clear, concise and written without unnecessary jargon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Very useful for anyone trying to get to grips with the notion of Gestalt Therapy and how it works. Recommend to students
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Very useful series. In nutsell is just what you need to know if you are a novice to the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Beautifully written, deceptively simple and un-neurotic approach to counselling!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Ok, quite basic though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Useful!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)