Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 April 2017
Very good and happy with Thanks again
Just a little pricey for 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Nice book and very quick delevery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This long-overdue publication gives a comprehensive overview of the history of British Airways, illustrated throughout with both rare archive photographs and full-colour reproductions of advertising material, all sourced from BA's extensive archive collection.

Issued to coincide with the 40th Anniversary of the formation of British Airways in 1974, the book charts the airline's history from the first flight of BA's predecessor Air Transport and Travel from Hounslow Heath to Le Bourget in August 1919, right through to the present day with the formation of IAG, the parent company of BA and Iberia, and the delivery of the next generation of airliners, the Airbus A380 and Boeing 787.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
Having read the other reviews, but not seen the book, I decided to purchase it. My fear was that it would be a glossy production, with a few photos of BA's planes, mostly focusing on recent history. I shouldn't have worried, the book is a first rate piece of work, printed on top quality paper (printed in the UK) with a great selection of quality photos and images of promotional materials from the early days to the present. The text is well written and accurate without any errors that I could spot, my only regret is that it wasn't expanded to be a full size hardback book. I can heartily recommend this to anyone with an interest in the history of BA, and the graphic styles used in its posters and other advertising. BA were obviously involved in producing this, but must be commended in allowing the author to produce a book that gives a balanced view of its long history.

Also recommended is the companion volume by the same author, "Better by Design", featuring a superb account of how the BA brand has developed out of Imperial Airways, BOAC, BEA and other predecessor companies.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Good reading and see how the airline has had the bad times and now the good time with the introduction of many new types over the years and to be part of this change.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Excellent coverage of British Airways' heritage. As a former member of BA I find the book well written and absorbing - congratulations to Paul Jarvis!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
Wish it was a hardback as the quality is excellent. Many unseen photos and memorabilia
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
Didn't realise this was a book authorised by BA - possibly my mistake. It's still a valid illustrated history (mainly of marketing material) but it's all very sanitised. It does what it says but its a book written by BA's marketing department effectively.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
Although my level of English is not so high I find this book well informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
A fascinating history of the airline: great for flipping through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)