Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2013
This modestly-sized paperback provides an informative summary of the 53 Prime Ministers from Sir Robert Walpole to David Cameron. The book is arranged in chronological order and describes the core features / events of each term of office, plus the evolution of the Whigs / Tories into the political party system that we now recognise. The reader will find references to the only PM who was assassinated (Spencer Perceval), the only PM to be born outside the UK (Andrew Bonar Law), and many other fascinating facts that are not commonly known about these leaders. This book contains substantial historical detail (including the ruling monarchs at the material times) and gives an ideal foundation for more detailed study. The author is to be congratulated on the scope of his research and, as an American, he has produced an objective, unbiased work that will provide an excellent reference source for the interested reader and history student alike.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I was a bit disappointed with this purchase but then perhaps I was expecting too much for biographies of 53 Prime Ministers from Sir Robert Walpole to David Cameron to be adequately covered in one slim (128 page) book which amounts to no more than 3 pages per PM. Much more a factual book listing date and place of birth, marriage, length of time as MP and PM, date of death and final resting place. Really a small reference work than giving much biographical detail.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Although I found it interesting the facts given are quite short with not enough detailed background to the lives of the Prime Ministers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
An accurate review of each Prime Minister from Robert Walpole to David Cameron, briefly describing their background and achievements. Also includes a brief overview of the British political parties. Confusing terms like "liberal" are adequately explained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
A great read and until I read this book, I must admit I could only name a hand full of PMs. I was sad to learn it wasn't written by a British author, alas I am grateful to the written. Well researched and interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
A chatty little book dealing with each PM succinctly. It's not a history text book, but a brief (enough for me) guide book to past PM's - very easy to read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
This is an excellent little book from the first PM to the present day: excellent "thumbnail" histories to enhance one's general knowledge or remember characters from misty legend to recent horrors!. A very entertaining and informative tome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This book is perfect as a reference for anyone interested in British history.
Well researched, well written with just the right amount of information on each premier
A great purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
We all know our Monarchs,but how many can name our Prime Ministers ? Easy to read and gives you a quick insight into all our Prime Ministers etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2016
It's a short, keynotes style history of each prime minister. Easy reading as it is well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)