Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2017
Good to see old pictures of Bristol and it shows how much has been lost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Item was as described and arrived promptly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
We ordered this book because we will be visiting Bristol this summer. We wanted to look into its history. This gives us a good view and great pictures. We are quite happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This was a present for my Husband who loves Bristol history. He thoroughly enjoyed the read and he said it really took him back in time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
nice book, so sad how many lovely buildigns they have pulled down in Bristol and the crap they have put up instead. Shame on you planning dept of Bristol for granting such mass distruction over the years!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
brilliant book. very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
The Ever Changing Face of Bristol's Centre

Having a harbour right in the city centre gave Bristol an unrivalled attraction for visitors who gazed in wonder at the sight of tall masts -'In the middle of the street, as far as you can see, hundreds of ships, their masts as thick as they can stand by one another, which is the oddest and most surprising sight' imaginable wrote Alexander Pope in 1732.

Bristol... with a thousand-year history as a port, the sea reflects the heart of the Bristol.

A long street, full of ships in the middle and houses on both sides, looks like a dream. It's a dream that no one will ever see again. Picturesque it may have been but the ships got in the way of the traffic.

2004 The Centre has been redesigned with illuminated pillars and water gardens. Bristol people wanted the centre to be opened up to show the River Frome running through it. The City Council have spent a great deal of time and money renovating our city centre.

Some people absolutely hate what they've done.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
Poppyteddywoody. I think the Luftwaffe may bear some responsibility....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)