Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
59
4.5 out of 5 stars
Rock War
Format: Hardcover|Change


on 17 October 2016
Fantastic start to a new Muchamore series. This is for older teens. It;s much grittier than Cherub, for example. Loved it though and feels very relevant in the world of X factor etc. The characters are relatable and anarchic, and of course things almost immediately start to go wrong...can't wait for the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
not sure about this one, but generally I'll read anything from Robert Muchamore - maybe he'll feel the same way about some of mine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Robert Muchamore is a very popular writer with reluctant readers, particularly boys. As a teacher I have seen many boys switch on to reading after reading one of the Cherub series - which is now 11 years old. That's a great series of books about child secret agents.

This book tells the story of three wannabe rock band musicians. There are two boys and one girl, so something for everyone, Jay, Summer and Dylan. They all want to appear on a reality TV show, "Rock Wars", and dream of fame and fortune. In fact, the book begins with a dream.

Summer's story is moving. She is an introvert and she has to cope with a mundane daily life where her parents aren't there for her and she has to care for her nan. There are a few girls who will identify with that storyline. Summer knows she has a good voice though and she hopes that will take her to stardom and give her a way out of her life.

Dylan is from a rich family and goes to a private school where he plays a lot of rugby, and Jay, is the songwriter and guitarist, who has a dysfunctional family background. There is lots of humour in the book and short chapters with easy language and a fast pacy plot which makes this so appealing to readers.

I know this book will be read by a lot of my class when I take it into school. Muchamore has a well deserved reputation and is a top selling author.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
After loving the CHERUB series, I was excited to see what's next from Robert Muchamore, one of my favourite authors; it did not disappoint. It's engaging, detailed, and anyone who's read CHERUB will absolutely love this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
really enjoyed this great little book. Good story lines and plot it really was a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 July 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Robert Muchamore is already established as a best selling writer of young people's fiction. Here he tackles the music industry with a story linking young people from a host of different backgrounds, all with a host of different issues and all wanting to make it in music through band competitions.

The characters are generally well-drawn, interesting and engaging. Talented songwriter and guitarist Jay has a chaotic family background with a host of half-siblings. Most of his brothers are the bulky sons of a local hardened criminal, he is the lightly built offspring of the policeman his mother seduced, bullied by his thuggish younger brother. Falling out with his band mates - chiefly the noxious Tristan- he decides to set up his own band, which includes older brother and former young offender Theo.

Vocalist Summer lives with her disabled grandmother in a run down tower block where the lifts seldom work, but works hard at school and does her best to avoid trouble. Trouble comes in the shape of priviledged but flaky Michelle, the indulged child of a wealthy business family.

Dylan is the public school educated stepson of a music producer who does his best to avoid anything resembling hard work, but especially sport.

The story eventually builds to all of the above - plus others - meeting up at a band competition in London, with a plethora of incidents placing barriers in their way beforehand. There's criminal activity galore - which as in life, often goes unpunished.

The story is structured for a sequel, and consequently the ending is slightly unsatisfactory, leaving things in mid air. It's definitely not a story for younger children, but those of 13 and above - the age range of the main characters - should be fine.
There's a thread of gritty realism, including some physical violence throughout, it isn't a comfortable cosy story, so do be warned. Was all the violence necessary in a story focused around music?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 February 2016
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was talking with Tom Palmer and he mentioned his daughter liked this author's work. So I got Iris (12) to review this book. Her comments are:-

"I absolutely loved this book! It was fast, and full of action, with twists and turns. It's about three teens who play in rock bands and their lives. It is as good as the author's The Recruit (CHERUB Series Book 1)series, if not better.

I'd recommend this book to people over twelve."

Seems like it has hit the spot with at least one of its target audience!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 November 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is exactly what you’d expect it to be. It’s about three groups of teenagers forming bands, making and losing friends, and dealing with various things along the way. The Rock War of the title is the name of a TV talent show, but this book doesn’t quite get that far, it just sets everything up for what’s to come in the future.

Jay is a talented young guitar player, thirteen years old and very serious about his music. His family is large and larger than life, more than familiar with the wrong side of the law. Jay’s a bit of an outsider, though, since he’s small and scrawny while all his brother’s are big and kind of scary. But it doesn’t matter because Jay is determined and talented, and will let nothing stop him. He’s the character we get to know best in the story, and his family were great fun.

Summer is the shy one with a great voice. She spends her life trying not to attract attention, just wanting to get things done so she can take care of her Nan. Then she gets involved with crazy Michelle and her life turns… different. I liked Summer, though some of the things that happen to her (mostly thanks to Michelle) were just bonkers.

I liked Dylan least of the three. He’s a lazy rich kid who mostly spends his time not caring about anything. Until he messes with the rugby team and his life is suddenly a lot less rosy. Mostly I found him a bit boring, and his band mates either weird or annoying. Hopefully they’ll all become more interesting in the next book.

Overall this is a good read. It’s pretty straightforward with some daft moments, many of which are funny, some of which are just weird. There is a warning that it’s not suitable for younger readers, likely because of language and some of the issues that crop up, but with band members ranging from 11/12 to 16, I think anyone in that age group will be fine with it. A bit predictable at times, but still a fun start to the series.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
I am a huge Muchamore fan and I loved his Cherub books. But when I found out that he was making a book about music I wasn't so sure it would work out. Wrong assimilation, it was brilliantly written and explained.
The story has 3 main characters , Jay, Summer and Dylan.
Jay gets chucked out his own band, but builds an even better band with his 2 brothers and a drummer.
Summer is shy and her life is boring, looking after her nan until she joins a band and becomes the lead singer.
Dylan's life is luxurious going to a boarding school but he hates it. Somehow he joins a band called the pandas of doom
Recommend it for everyone
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here