Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2015
Another excellent outing for the Famous Five. Not just a great story but excellent history lesson of kids like mine who are the iPad generation, no how independent children were and how attitudes were less than 3 generations ago. It also shows the class divide is still active but has become a bit more blurred was so much more prominent back then.

Inspired by seeing the parade of the circus coming to town the Five decide to have a caravan holiday. The three sibling’s parents are all too happy to let them as it might do them some good. Meeting a boy about Julian's age in the circus and befriending him, the Five must contented the boys rotten tempered, rough child beating uncle/guardian and his friend the equally pleasant Lou the star acrobat. Despite having an instant dislike for the "posh" kids. However could there be another reason these nasty pieces of work want to be rid of the five adventurers? Another cracking FF story that my kids could not wait for their nightly chapter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2001
I grew up with the Famous five, and I still love them. Whatever anyone says about them being racist and homophobic, I think that was just attitudes at the time. This book is a particually good example of her excellent work, drawing you into the story and leaving you completely spellbound. You can really associate with the characters, whether you're 9 or 90. A must-have book.
33 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Takes me back to my childhood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2003
This book is typical of the famous five series. I grew up with translated (to french) Blyton's books, starting from Noddy to the Five and the twins. In this episode you'll find no TV, no gameboy, but daring and independant kids. I just hope mine will be a little bit like them. My son will start his reading with these books !
George is as reckless as ever, thanks to the others she will keep out of trouble at the end : that's what teamwork does !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
This book is when the famous five borrow a caravan from Annes mums friend and follows a Circus holiday. They meet a boy called Ned aand his fake uncle who was the chief clown of the Circus called Tiger Dan.He and his friend Lewis Alburg the acrobat was not very pleasant.Both men were ugly and bad tempered also they were burgerls.This is all I can tell you for now.Why not buy this book and find out the rest you self and help find the very most expensive stolen goods in this book.Hope you enjoy the book.BYE!

Most faithfully

Bimansa Porter xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
this book is so so cool. Amazon is the best of them all. so cool i am buying them all. thanks Enid Blyton i will buy every single book you have written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
As a self-declared Famous Five fanatic, I find Five Go Off in a Caravan, perhaps, the most tepid adventure so far. Of course, I think it would appeal to its child audience, what with the circus animals including Pongo the chimp! But I get the sense that there really isn't much of an adventure here, not until the later stages of the book anyhow.

It moves along rather slowly, describing the children's holiday more than building up the obvious mysterious goings on with Tiger Dan and Lou. I quite liked Nobby's character, and Anne seems to have more of a storyline in this one, which was nice. George tends to fade into the background, which is inevitable when there are so many protagonists to focus on.

I also found that this instalment really showed its age. It felt disconnected, whereas the previous ones had an old charm to them. It does get better though, especially when they travel underground in search of what is going on. The later fight scenes are a welcome injection to the book's pretty lifeless story too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Reading this series with my nine year old son. I can't believe that the 70th anniversary edition stops at this book in the series (number 5) seems such a shame.

The story as with all is fun and captures childrens' imaginations now, just as they did with me 35 years ago. Just love the way the children are allowed to go off on their own on holiday
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
This book is really good it made think that if I was on a adventure don't get scared just trust your heart
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This is the fifth famous five book with Jillian ,Dick ,Anne,Georgina and Timmy the dog . This is a very good book . I would recommend this book to any famous five lover . Overall this is a 8/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse