Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
95
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
As always an un -putdownable read!!! An excellent plot with many twists and turns which keep your attention to the very end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Absolutely brilliant this will keep you wanting to read this Twist and Turns all the way through A great Book Tom Waters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Thrilling from start to finish. Love the Lincoln Rhyme stories. Find it fascinating how he gathers evidence and works out the crime scenes. Can't wait to read book 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
As good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2003
This is the fourth book in the Lincoln Rhyme/Amelia Sachs' series featuring Lincoln as the quadriplegic consultant to the NYPD with Amelia acting as his eyes and legs by walking the crime scenes for him, while reporting back everything she sees and feels. While one might think that having someone heading up an investigation, who's confined to a wheelchair, might be a little far-fetched, then you haven't made the acquaintance of Lincoln Rhyme. Deaver makes this series so interesting by putting top notch technology at Lincoln's fingertips (just a figure of speech as Lincoln only has feeling in his left ring finger).
As the story opens, Lincoln has tracked down a cargo ship, the Fuzhou Dragon, said to be bringing in illegal Chinese immigrants. The smuggler is a man known as "The Ghost" -- aptly named as there are no known photographs of him in existance. Not only is The Ghost a smuggler of illegal aliens, he is also a killer and Lincoln has been asked by the FBI and the INS to help them capture this murderer before he strikes again on Lincoln's turf.
A good part of this story takes place in New York's Chinatown as The Ghost tries to track down two of the families he has smuggled into this country. At the same time, Lincoln and Amelia are trying to reach these families first before The Ghost gets to them. This is the real mystery.....why is The Ghost after immigrants he, himself, has smuggled into this country?
Deaver's descriptions of this area and its Chinese cultures are well researched and make for some very interesting reading. It's actually one of the best fictional trips into Chinatown that I've yet to come upon. I especially liked the story Deaver tells of the "Ten Judges of Hell" who keep a book called "The Register of the Living and the Dead" -- which is actually the balance sheet of life and death for the Chinese people.
Comparing this book to the other three in the series (The Bone Collector, The Coffin Dancer, The Empty Chair), I'd have to say it's right at the top of the list for me because Deaver weaves a tale that has a number of twists and turns, some of which totally caught me by surprise. He also introduces a wily policeman from China, Sonny Li, who will grow on the reader as much as he is growing on Lincoln (which isn't an easy feat). I know the next book in the series, The Vanished Man, has just come out and I look forward, with great anticipation, to another adventure with Lincoln and Amelia. I hear it's a winner.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jeffery Deaver's popular duo of Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are back again in the fifth in their series, one that was preceded by The Bone Collector, The Coffin Dancer, The Devil's Teardrop (cameo for Rhyme only) and The Empty Chair . They are all good, and Deaver has created an enigmatic character in the immobile Lincoln Rhyme who, grumpy though he is, always displays such a lucidity of mind and exceptional talent for forensics that all other characters in the book pale into insignificance. He's human though, he has failings, but we always forgive him because we know that despite his intense frustrations (brought about by his almost absolute physical disability) he is a man of integrity and sound judgement.

In The Stone Monkey he is on the trail of a 'Snakehead', a Chinese man who exploits the desperations of those in his home country and who seek a better life in The Beautiful Country (is New York beautiful?). The Snakehead, aka Ghost, is a pretty nasty piece of work and his identity is cleverly hidden throughout most of this story although I have to confess that, for once, I got it right quite early on. It didn't spoil a thing though, the book gave me new insights into the pain and politics behind human trafficking, and once again I can give a Deaver novel the thumbs-up and a strong recommendation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2003
Jeffrey Deaver has done it again..... I am a huge fan of the Lincoln Rhyme series and this one I believe to be the pick of the bunch. There are so many twists and turns and the final chapters truely have you sat on the edge of your seat!
This is one book that once picked up you will be unable to put down - truely remarkable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2002
As an avid fan of Jeffrey Deaver and a follower of the Lincoln Rhyme series, I eagerly awaited for the fourth installment.
The Stone Monkey is another great story and well written addition. However, I found that this novel certainly isn't best of the four and my least favorite. I think this is mainly because there is less character development, particularly of Rhyme (the ex. head of forensics quadriplegic) and his partner Sachs (a crime scene officer).
Apart from the aforementioned, I must say once I started reading the book I couldn't put it down. Deaver's portrayal of the human smuggling underworld was grim as ever! and that of the chinese society brilliant. Deaver really delves into these subjects providing the story with intricate details. Add this with a chilling plot, unexpected turns, lovable and detestable characters - you end up with another outstanding Deaver thriller...
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2002
Deaver made a huge impact on me with the Bone Collector and subsequently I have purchased all his offerings - including his previous novel which were wrapped up in new covers to fool the unsuspecting - his style of faint romance between Sachs and Rhyme, a cruel and ruthless villain and a sudden twist is beginning to wear thin. While I enjoyed the book it is all a bit "thriller-by-numbers" as opposed to the genuine attention holders he produced for a while. Like James Patterson the one-book-a-year author production line tends to diminish the final product. Read on a plane.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse