Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
My Theodosia
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 June 2016
I read all of Anya Seton's books when I was much younger and am now going through them again. I still love the way she wrote, especially Katherine which was my most favourite book of all time. I did enjoy My Theodosia and am now reading Foxfire -
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2013
Great story with so much historical background. Very easy to read and it was difficult to put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
Book as described and very speedy delivery - excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 October 2012
Really readable and enjoyable story of Theodosia, daughter of charismatic and ambitious Vice-President Aaron Burr. Levered into an unsatisfying marriage which will benefit her father, Theodosia is sent to the fever-filled lands of the Waccamaw Neck in S. Carolina, where her husband owns a plantation.
Yet everything in her life takes second place to the father she adores:
'you appear to me so superior, so elevated above all other men, I contemplate you with such a strange mixture of humility, admiration, reverence, love and pride, that very little superstition would be necessary to make me worship you as a superior being' (from an actual letter she wrote in 1809).
However her father's star is on the wane- debt, killing a political rival in a dual, and his subsequent grandiose schemes to become- like his contemporary Napoleon- an emperor, lead to his being a wanted man...
Seton conjures up the world of 1800s Carolina particularly well: the scenery, the 'gullah' slave communities, the plantations and the disease.
Some of the romantic scenes were faintly Mills and Boonish, but I did enjoy the book and learnt so much!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2007
This book tells the story of Aaron Burr and his daughter Theodosia (Theo). I have to admit I didn't recall much of Burr from history class outside of the duel with Alexander Hamilton. At the start of the book Theo is 17 and Burr is vice president of the United States. Burr plots to have Theo married to the wealthy but uninteresting Joseph Alston of South Carolina. Burr needs some of that money to cover his debts and also the power of the Alstons to gain him policical support in the south. The relationship between Burr and Theo is closer than most father/daughter relationships and Burr is able to manipulate Theo into his increasingly risky and treasonous schemes that distance her ever further from any satisfying relationship she might forge with her husband, and her greatest joy in life is her young son.

There are lots of well known names in the story as Theo interacts with them -- Washington Irving (a minor character), Meriwether Lewis (sigh!), Dolly Madison, Alexander Hamilton and more. I love the way she sets her scenes and writes the various dialects, it's like you really hear them as they would be spoken. Her characters could have been fleshed out better, there is so much subject material in the Burr story and it's twists and turns that could be turned into a gloriously fat and meaty work of historical fiction. Writers out there -- HINT HINT HINT.

Be advised that if you read up on Aaron and Theo on the internet prior to finishing the book you will end up with some spoilers on your hands. However, do look Theo up afterwards and the legends surrounding her mysterious disappearance and the strange ghost that haunts a Carolina shore. Lastly, I was very glad there was not another forward by Philppa Gregory. The one she wrote for Devil Water and the way she obsessed about the too close relationship between father and daughter really irked me to no end.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2009
Having read this well-written book many years ago and having thoroughly enjoyed it, I decided it was time to pay an old friend another visit and re-read it. Time has certainly not diminished the capacity of this book to entertain the reader.

The talented author deftly weaves the gossamer threads of history with fiction, creating a tapestry that tells the reader of the tragic life of Theodosia, beloved daughter and only child of the notorious Aaron Burr. Written by a master storyteller, it is an enjoyable and poignant portrait of Theodosia. While her life was tragic in many respects, the book tells a compelling story of a young woman whose name will forever remain in the annals of history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2003
Having read this well-written book many years ago and having thoroughly enjoyed it, I decided it was time to pay an old friend another visit and re-read it. Time has certainly not diminished the capacity of this book to entertain the reader.
The talented author deftly weaves the gossamer threads of history with fiction, creating a tapestry that tells the reader of the tragic life of Theodosia, beloved daughter and only child of the notorious Aaron Burr. Written by a master storyteller, it is an enjoyable and poignant portrait of Theodosia. While her life was tragic in many respects, the book tells a compelling story of a young woman whose name would forever remain in the annals of history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2014
I usually like this author's books. However I found this story rather repetitive and Theodosia a bit tedious, over and over how devoted to her father, how wonderful and honourable, how infallible he was. And so on. Aaron Burr was widely regarded as a scoundrel. The eponymous "heroine" was a bit of a silly girl, not what you would call a well rounded character. However the historical background and detail was informative and interesting, so - three stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2015
Very enjoyable.A fascinating story of a poor misguided girl who had an obsession for her Father excluding all others .o.k
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2015
A very enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here