Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
122
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2015
His story from the wastelands of Somali to the Olympic Stadium in 2012 the golden boy of the British athletics strode on the British public is a good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Got this as a gift for a friend and he loved it, Very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
another well received gift for my lucky husband - he loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Love it! Very inspiring man not just as an athlete. He gave me so much perspective in life that hardwork and never give up attitude. Such a great man. Read it even though u don't like running:)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I am a huge fan of Mo Farah; this is the autobiography I have been waiting for with great anticipation since London 2012. With the number of athletes autobiographies and great performances coming from post London 2012 my expectations were high. This book delivers. This is one of the best books I have read all year. If you are just a casual fan his or just want to know more about the training, achievements, dedication, sacrifices and rewards of one of the greatest distance runner of our generation, this book will push you the rest of the converting anyone to a full-fledged fan. As a British Muslim as well I respect and applaud Mo's for keeping to his beliefs, but not forcing them on anyone else at the same time respecting other people's beliefs and opinions.

Every time I had seen Mo on TV racing or being interviewed he has always been smiling, polite and dignified. Even in the infamous post marathon interview where the presenter had no idea who he was. When I watched I though he showed his class by trying not to embarrass the lady. He does talk about the incident in the book, and once again show what a classy person he is. Having said that it was nice to see the more private side of Mo's personality the mischievous, daredevil, mick taker as well. I don't know if it is from being a twin but doubles and the number 2 seem to follow Mo around a lot in his championships. Being one of the few men to be double, double champion is evident of this.

The book starts off from young days in Somalia, and his introduction to running with his hilarious adventures trying to watch the The Mysterious Cities Of Gold: The Complete Series BBC (slim-line version) [DVD], (great show I had a much easier time watching it but I can understand why he was so obsessed with it). Mo's writing style mirrors his personality. He is happy with what he has. He never saw himself or his family as disadvantages. They had what they had and they made do. He talks about the big change to moving to England. Again seeing the way Mo is it is hard to imagine Mo being a disrupting or aggressive, but he was young and in an unfamiliar environment it is understandable.

Mo gives full credit to the people who have helped him from his PE teacher, who noticed his talent early on and went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure Mo could fulfil his potential, to all his friends and competitors who helped or pushed him to be the best he could be. Mo goes out of his way to say his success is not all down to him. He talks about the work he had to put in and slowly raising up the ranks. The Sacrifices he and those around him had to make. He talks about the dangers and distractions of the life he has chosen. The incredible rewards of winning and the heart break of losing. All of this has contributed to keeping him humble and grounded.

He is open and honest about his personal feelings. The races he loses he is honest with what he thinks when wrong and give respect to his competitors saying they were better on the day. He shows he is not a Robot (or Mobot), he can have bad days like the rest of us, and unfortunately his bad days tend to be more public then the average persons. The talk about race tactics and the importance of proper preparation. The balancing act between getting your training just right, under training will lead to disaster, but over training can be just as disastrous. The mental toughness you need to develop during training, dealing with the media, and set back. The Championship mentality to keep going no matter what.

He talk about the Mo Farah Foundation the great work he is doing with that to give back to the country of his birth, and the work and scholarships he has set up in England to help aspiring young athletes get what they need in the way of coaching and financial help. Which Mo calls giving back to the sport, not many people would do this as quickly on their career. Considering this foundation was only started in 2011 which was Mo's breakout year on the world stage, it is amazing the work they have done already.

This is a great inspirational book, which can be enjoyed by all fans and has insights and wisdom for aspiring athletes as well, of not only training but how to deal with fans, the media, the negatives and positives of success. A great I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Really good read, just half way through but in 2 days - well written and a good autobiography. What an interesting story and motivational for anyone, not just runners.

Well done Mo - another success :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
I loved this book. It shows what an athlete feels and how the great mo farah does what he does. It shows the difficulties and sactifices of trach and field and it was interesting to read one of my idol's POV
Buy this book and you'll never regret it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
such a great book to read and to motivate others. his peformances on tele our astonishing i love his mo bot. please do Tokyo mo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)