Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
2,120
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2016
Wonderful book as most of Jodi Picoult books. It is a story about Sage, bakery worker who meets an old Former Ss officer. Her grandmother was Holocaust survivor and Sage wanted to find a way to punish Reiner, former SS officer who was A guard in Aushwitz. Sage found an FBI officer specialising in this kind of cases and both of them tried to find out as much as possible from Minka, Sage's granmother, an Auchwitz victim. This book tells so many cruel things, this story is very touching, sad, Horrifying. It is hard to read at times. And you are. Little bit different person when you finish reading this book. It touches a little bit of Sense of appreciation deep inside you. It really touches you and your feelings. I catched myself just sitting and thinking for few moments after finished this book.

Jodi picoult as always touches your feelings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Judy Picoult certainly excels at storytelling in part2 of this novel - here Minka tells the heartbreaking story of her life in ghettos and nazi extermination camps for Jews. But she adds 'If you lived through it you already know that there are no words that could even come close to describing it.' It was so well written I found it emotionally stressful to read, and cried at the end of Minka's story. She says 'Sometimes all it takes to become a human being again is someone who can see you that way, no matter how you present on the surface', which makes you realise that the Jews were treated so inhumanly that they appeared to forget they were human.

As found in the author's other novels, aspects of moral dilemmas were woven in to this novel. She also throws light on what it might take to make someone inflict these horrendous crimes on others. She compares and contrasts two German brothers to illustrate this. She also adds 'It turns out the more you repeat an action, now matter how reprehensible it is, the more you can make an excuse for it in your own mind'. The relationship between the brothers is also reflected in a fantasy story Minka created when she young. This story shown in italics is introduced before Minka's life story, and at first it was hard to understand why it was in the novel; however later we discover that Minka being a 'storyteller' is an important aspect to her survival.

The novel starts in the present day with Minka's grand daughter who has her own emotional issues and her own dilemma relating to someone else who has also been through the war. Different chapters are written from different characters prospectives so don't forget to check at the top from who's prospective it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
It is not unusual to find it hard to put down a book by Jodi Picoult. she has a turn of writing that makes a story come alive and out of all her books this is most evident in her latest - the storyteller!!

lush with history and difficult to read sections of times at Auschwitz, she creates a character that you abhorrent for the monster he was, and one you are reluctant to believe as the gentle soul he is today. you grow to love the scarred girl who hides her ugly face from the world, and wish along with other characters that she would only realise that beauty is not only on the outside!!

As a with Jodi, there is a twist at the end - looking back, I should have seen it coming but hindsight is a great gift.

if you read only one book this year, make it the Storyteller... for inexplicable reasons, I sit have tears trickling my eyes even though I am finished reading!!#
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
I've read a lot of books about the holocaust and every book leaves me in tears, this one however had me sobbing at the half way point. Jodi Picoult has a way of making you feel empathy for every single character, she draws you in completely and doesn't let you go until the last word. Very well researched, a good book club read as there is so much to discuss. A very good book on a very sad subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Amazing story of two lives, a grand daughter and her grandmother. And another more gruesome story, which is told by the grandmother. They all connect, and come together in a modern day holocaust story. A difficult read, particularly if you are a Jew. But worth the trauma eventually. The story revolves around human tragedy and forgiveness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
The book came in great condition as expected, and within the stated delivery time. It came unmarked, uncreased and in great condition. Packaging was secure and sensible. The book itself is an incredible read! The author delivered an incredibly emotionally rewarding journey with her characters, and her research and how she spoke personally to victims and survivors of the holocaust shows beautifully through her work. If you are on the edge about whether or not to buy this book then please do! It truly is incredible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this book you can begin to picture what it must of been like to live through what the characters lived through what a horrible time for them. It is a very educational book and very well written I found it hard to put it down . An excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
My sister recommended I download this book and what a book it is - beautifully written, amazingly moving and heartbreaking without being a book that makes you shudder. I found myself living the era, I found myself in tears and I still am thinking about all I read and I finished the book a week ago. A book that everyone should read because the insight it gives shouldn't be forgotten. A class book with depth and meaning. Awesome!!
Lyn
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
A story written with a historical background which I found unable to put down. A great read which was all immersing and took you right back to the lives of minka and her family and the horrors they faced during the second world war. Flitting between historical accounts and the present day it kept me on the edge of my seat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
This is a wonderful, thought-provoking book set around the horrific events of the Holocaust. The book is beautifully written, switching from past to present. You can't help but get swept up in the "story" of the title and also the drama of the book. The main characters are well thought out and you are keen to know more about them from the first few chapters. The horrors of the concentration camps will make you weep and the treatment of the Jewish people is very upsetting, but don't let that put you off as this is well-worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here