Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
30
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2015
Love all of Lindsey Davis's Roman works, but not so keen on her Civil War attempts. Rebels and Traitors read more like a history than a novel, and this is much the same. It describes some truly shocking events, the way in which Parliamentarian prisoners were treated by the Royalists in Oxford. She introduces several characters to personalise the story, but they lack personality and, although you gasp at how they are treated, you don't really get interested in them as people.
Dont think this book, as with Rebels and Traitors, really knows whether it is a novel or a historical account. Please Lindsey, go back to the Falco style - well-drawn characters, fast moving plots, lots of humour - and we might then love your new period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
I found the novella to be a fast-paced and gripping read.

The detailed account of the two main characters imprisonments in Oxford breathed life into the period of the English Civil War. A history period which did consist for me so far just of the mere dates and facts learned at school.

The author has also written the epic novel Traitors and Rebels, which is set during the same time, and I'm sure she did a thorough research before writing it and this Quick Read benefits form this meticulous research, too.

I enjoyed how Lindsey Davis ended the story. It left this tiny ray of hope which was needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Must confess, downloaded at work and read it same day!

Having read Lindsey Davis Rebels & Traitors (a much more lengthy tome but worth the effort) this was an easy quick read and makes one think of Oxford in a different light!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
This is not Lindsey Davis' usual fare but she knows her history and has worked hard to paint her picture in this novella. You find yourself warming to the characters and rooting for them - I didn't expect the ending but am glad she ended it in the way that she did (without giving anything away!)

I'd be interested to read more in this vein by this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Similar to Rebels and Traitors - very good indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I enjoyed the book as I am an avid reader of the author and it is a good fit with her much larger book on
the same period REBELS AND TRAITORS though it does not share any characters The only problem
I had was that the original order was one with amazon ,com in the US which order was cancelled so
the shipping from the UK added substantially to the price, This of course was the fault of Amazon.com
and not Amazon.uk The book gives a good picture of the sufferings that people endured to obtain
the "Rights of Free Englishmen" Something that in some respects led to Immigration to America and
then to the American Revolution A lesson which The British government had learned by the 19th century
resulting in better representation in Parliament and self determination leading to the change from Empire
to Commonwealth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
The plot is first rate but that is all it seems to be - just the plot for a very good novel instead of a novel in its own right - please finish the full book based on this plot and I will willingly buy the full version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Not as well written as the Falco & family series
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I enjoyed it but feel that maybe a quick read is not for me. The dreadful conditions of the time were explored well as was the basic history. Also the characters were good but I like to really get into the story and didn't feel that it satisfied that need, but then it was a quick read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Really enjoyed this book wanted to know more about this period of history the book brought to life the aweful situation these men found themselves in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.