Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
41
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2013
I can't comment on the accuracy of the content and this version of events of the forming of Twitter and at times the writing is a little on the unnecessarily flowery side (reminded me of reading a story written by a college student). However, this was a really good read and I enjoyed it a lot. One of the better (in terms of entertainment at least) bios of a tech company.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Amazing Twitter is only 6 years old. Fascinating book.
Not sure how much it comes across as talent or luck that brought such huge success. I guess both. Right time and place is the key to success. But a lot of the time it reads as though they didn't know what they were doing...!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
There's a fantastic amount of detail and depth in this story of the birth of Twitter, however the character assassination of Jack Dorsey along with the casting of the money men of the tech world (ie. the ones who make it possible) reduces the credibility of the book as a whole.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
pleasantly narrative, states the facts in a gripping and non-sensationalist manner. it does cast heroes and villains, though, and one wonders how heroic or villainous these characters really were.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Worth a read! Interesting how much back stabbing was involved to get Twitter where it is today. Although very hollywoodised, the story is still a great one that should be told :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
I rarely leave a book review, but this book had me hooked, it's was like reading a good fictional story book with rollercoaster-esque twist and turns.

Every time Facebook was mentioned, I cringed at the immature (sounding) behaviour from Zuckerberg, i.e. the umpire tall chair in the room looking down on the others - WTF?! ;-)

It's a very enjoyable read, with beautifully descriptive historical events being replayed from material gained during interviews from directors and staff. Where events were not clear Nick Bilton used historical posts on Twitter to fill in the blanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2014
This book tells the story of Twitter from inception through to recent time and it's a gripping read. To steal the byline from the cover, it is a story of "money, power, friendship and betrayal" that reads like a fictional tale if we didn't know that Twitter was real.

Having read this and The Facebook Effect, I think this book is worthy of being made into a movie and is even more fascinating than the Facebook history. A 'story' of how a bad idea grew into a new, slightly crazy idea as a desperate measure to keep going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Any book that begins with the CEO of a billion dollar company throwing up into a bin has my attention. The story was so compelling I found it hard to put down. It's a great insight into startups and the people who build them.

Having said that, Bilton could have talked more about the technology behind twitter, be less judgemental, and not colourify mundane scenes like ordering food at restaurants.

All in all, a great book deserving of high praise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
This book is a bit like a Dan Brown novel. It's definitely a page turner, and the facts have been turned into a narrative in a fairly pleasing way.

The author seems to slip in bizarre sentences describing the scene. They really feel like they've been added or suggested by an editor and it's to the books detriment.

Never the less it's a good read and if you're at all interested in Twitter I'd recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Extremely enjoyable book, which read at times like a thriller. Finished this in the week Jack Dorsey was confirmed as permanent CEO on his return to Twitter, and if I had any criticism of the book it was in that it seemed to lack a degree of balance in it's treatment of Dorsey. I would certainly recommend this book for anyone looking for an insight into the dynamics of an Internet start up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)