Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
153
The Yellow Birds
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 September 2013
Really good writing, essential topic, although obviously not the cheeriest of reads. Still don't understand why he did what he did, tho.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2013
A beaautifully-told story of relationships in war. Intensely sad. As soon as I had finished the book I felt I needed to read it again,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2012
The story is told from an unusual perspective, and keeps the reader hanging on until quite late in the book to find out all the facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
A hard, honest account of the lasting effect war has on the young men who fight in them.
Thought provoking and in places brutal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2014
Brilliantly written book on the paradox of modern conflict in the Middle East. Will live with me for some time. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
Thought provoking story about an American soldier facing impossible decisions in a war we should be ashamed of. Recommended reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2015
Not what I would pick so sympathy with a difficult subject but really disliked the way it was written and not much of a storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2013
A gritty and compelling read about the futility and after effects of warfare. Looking forward to reading more by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2015
Not sure what I was expecting from this book, the description doesn't really match what I actually read. I was disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2012
I set off with high hopes for this book, given the favourable comparisons to other war books, but was hugely disappointed. I found myself skipping whole sections of pretentious attempts at philosophising. The plot is very thin, and this is a book that could have been written in three chapters, and the rest is padding. Elaborate, but banal descriptions of sunsets and scenery, are overdone and jar at times when they are interspersed with odd moments of dramatic action. I also only picked up a pity the poor American soldier point of view.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse