Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Terminus
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 July 2013
I found this book to be just as thrilling as the last two.I also really liked the characters in it.such as Lupe and sicknote.I think Adam Baker has yet again put together a real great bunch of characters which you might love or hate depending on who they are.but I certainly felt it easy too form a bond with some of those characters and was given a great insight into there personalities through Bakers great writing style.The plots quick pase and edgy feel through out is adrenaline pumping and at times his graphic descriptions are stomach churning.I also find his ability too describe complex machinery or explain the workings of equipment in a brief sentence great.On down side we will have too wait another year or so till his next book.if you've not read his previous books JUGGERNAUT and OUT POST.your missing out there great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2014
I enjoyed Terminus but it didn't grip me the way outpost and Juggernaut did - its definitely worth a look as a continuation of the overall story that Adam Baker is telling but the feeling that all the characters were doomed right from the outset as they were plunging into a radioactive city made it hard to connect with them - i mean if the zombies (sort of) didn't get them then they were gonna die of radiation sickness or being murdered by the people who sent them in right? I'd like to read more on this alternative take of the zombie genre from Mr baker so if he writes anymore i'll definitely be buying them, but this is the weakest of the three so far. It would be good to see what happened to the surviving characters from Outpost and Juggernaut as these were really well developed, it was a shame to leave them without some kind of definite fate/resolution - though maybe that's the whole point, to show the confused chaos the world had become. Terminus left you with the feeling the mission to find a cure was largely pointless anyway as there didn't appear to be anything left to cure or any means to produce/administer or distribute any cure that was found anyway (or why would they be relying on such a ragtag bunch of misfits to save humanity anyway?). Outpost was about personal survival against great odds and juggernaut was a get rich quick scheme turned survival horror in the middle of nowhere, both these worked incredibly well and would make excellent movies - this was a save humanity story that didn't make too much sense when you thought about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2013
On the whole, this proved to be a gripping jaunt into the bowels of New York's ruined subway system, keeping company with the crew of criminals, firefighters and military types, searching for a lost scientist who may have found a cure to an alien plague that has pushed humanity to the brink of extinction.

To add to the tension, New York -- along with many other major US cities -- has been hit with a nuclear device in a desperate attempt to stem the spread of the infection, which has turned much of humanity into cadaverous revenants riddled with metallic growths. A high-yield device, even the tunnels are no protection from radioactive contamination, so it's a race against time to find the man who may be able to save mankind.

Terminus is a follow up to Baker's novels Outpost and Juggernaut; both action-packed yarns that are filled with tension, gripping characters, and a suitably doom-laden air. This third installment maintains all those elements, but I have to say there is a sense that it has lost some of the momentum found in those earlier novels.

Perhaps it's the metallic plague losing some of its lustre (an infection, incidentally, that all-but reminds me of the melding plague in the Revelation Space series), perhaps it was the constraints of its setting in the tunnels beneath Manhattan island, but the story and the atmosphere felt a little stale by comparison with those earlier works.

So why the four stars? Despite what I've just said, I think it deserves them. Terminus remains an edge of the seat thriller, packed with action, suitably chilling, populated with characters whose fate you'll care to share, but the theme appears to be showing signs of wear and tear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 May 2015
Number three in Adam Baker’s somewhat grim series. Number four has also recently been released.
The series is based on a kind of end of world scenario where people are infected by alien spores that have a bit of a hive mind. Humans are being hunted now and there is not much sign of hope. As the books progress mankind is more and more on the back-foot and we are given different perspectives on the out-break, the link to the books is the outbreak, not the characters that change from book to book. In Terminus an over-run New York has been nuked in a desperate attempt to slow or destroy the infection but it is discovered that a key bunch of scientists may be surviving in the subway system. A disparate team is sent in to try and find them and or recover any key research. And, of course, things do not go well.
There is an undercurrent in these books that mankind is doomed so you feel that there will not be a miracle cure or a resolution, you are watching the death of humanity. And that becomes the series weakness, as a reader you have no hope or expectation that anything you are reading will make a difference, so your view becomes “when” and not “if”.
Having said that, this is full of action and tension and delivers well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2013
Terminus is Adam Baker's third novel and it is a continuation of the zombie ravaged world that he introduced in Outpost and Juggernaut. However, while it is a continuation, it is NOT a rehash, not a warming over of old characters and scenarios. Instead, Baker continues his ongoing exploration of the effects of the alien revenant virus as it spreads through a gradually disintegrating world.

The story follows Lupe, a New York gang-girl who has been co-opted by a team of scientists, rescue personnel and soldiers to re-enter New York (first taken over by the zombies and subsequently nuked by the government - shades of the classic North American survivalist paranoia going on here?) and extract the one scientist (a rather cornily named Doctor Ekks) who might have found a cure. Their search takes them deep into the Manhattan sewers and subway system, but what will they find there...?

Now there's good, bad (well, sort of) and indifferent here, for me. The story itself is well-paced and it skips along nicely, striking a perfect balance between the excitement of the classic zombie melee, tense claustrophobic searches through collapsed (nay, collapsing), flooded tunnel systems and long periods of boredom waiting for... rescue? for the zombies to break in? to die? And it IS a good story, calling on the well-known, tried and tested Resident Evil gameplay scenario, with characters galore, puzzles, traps, expositional documents and landslides - it really DOES feel like the classic computer game. The atmosphere is well-crafted too - murky, claustrophobic, cold and smelly; nowhere that you'd like to spend your summer holidays, that's for sure.

Another plus point is that it becomes clear from the beginning that the characters are pretty much doomed, having received a healthy, bone-marrow-warming dose of radiation poisoning, they are gradually succumbing to its effects. This adds bucketloads of tension to the story and turns the determined optimism of the more typical "we're going to get out of this if we alll pull together" schtick onto its fatalistic head. A very nice touch and one that Private Hudson would have loved; "Great! Game over man! Game over!".

The characters are, as I have mentioned, varied and fairly interesting and again there's a nice balance struck between the comfortably recognizable (perhaps straying a little towards the cliched?) and the anti-typical. I guess I have to say that I found the characters a little flat, wooden, samey in places. They all talk much like one another (in a stylized, hyper-macho mil-speak) and behave much like one another and a little more development and behavioural diversity would have been nice.

I have moaned about Baker's style in previous reviews. His clipped, staccato delivery. Sentences of no more. Than three words. At a time*. Tends to grate. After a while. I admit that I find it a little easier to read, with practise, and it does add tension and pace, but I would prefer to see him break out of it and use the method a little more sparingly. I'll also admit that it does force him into some rather cool, tastily descriptive (even lyrical) compound word groups...

"Smashed teller-glass crackled underfoot."
"Skin-crawl blackness."
"Bloated bruise-flesh marbled with livid veins."
"Meat-smack as the bullet punctured inert flesh."

So, this is a fine, distinctive addition to the zombie apocalypse genre from Baker; it's good points far outweigh the occasional bad and it rattles along the tram-tracks at a decent pace, spraying blood, bone fragments and brain tissue about with gay abandon. Good holiday reading, but don't forget to bring a length of lead-pipe or a baseball bat... you'll need it.

* Yeah yeah. So I'm exaggerating. Sue me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2015
I have read the full series up to this point, I started with outpost and then read the others. It can be difficult to find a suggested reading order for the series as the publish dates start you at outpost and then goes to the prequels. If you like the zombie books but would like a book with a bit more than just walking around killing zombies then this book is for you.

I still think outpost is the best book of the series but this is still a good book, it does make me want to read the next book in the series but I dislike the way the book jumps in price as it is the last in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2014
I did enjoy reading this one, but i personally found juggernaut and outpost a better read but still a enjoyable book if you like the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
I enjoyed reading this book, I thought it was a good story moving along at a good pace. I've read four of these now, Outpost, Juggernaut, this one and Impact. Only thing I find disappointing are the endings, good story, sort of fizzle out at the ends. I usually like to get some kind of conclusion from the stories I read. I hope there's another one coming that will tie up what I consider to be loose ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2016
The second best of the first 3. Better than juggernaut but not as good as outpost. I must admit these books are a real comfortable read although they won't win any awards they are as good a read as anything. A third separate instalment in the outpost works with only some very subtle nods to the previous outings, of Baker starts to weave these together or could be very exciting indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2014
The Outpost trilogy is one of my guilty pleasures. I enjoyed Terminus an apocalyptical page turner written in a staccato rhythm that takes you on a non-stop terrifying ride to a world of death and despair...and zombies

The characters rise to such heights of heroism and bravery you know come Armageddon you would want them on your team...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Impact
£7.44

Need customer service? Click here