Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 2 July 2016
I was quite prepared to be disappointed with this novel after a long love affair with the Falco series but from very early on I was hooked. The setting is in and around Rome which Lindsey Davis always handles beautifully and the nature of the crimes was unusual. Flavia Alba is by this time in her late twenties and a widow. As a whodunit it doesn't work but I think this is intentional on Davis' part. We know who the villain is but when will the heroine fall in? Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2016
I have been a Falco fan for many years, so any continuation of this world is welcome. The mystery itself was easy enough to work out, but the Aventine setting and well-developed characters makes up for that. Davis really is a master of her craft, you can practically smell the garum, she really does know her stuff. I miss Falco, but Albia is a fitting, intriguing and capable replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
The setting of this novel, in Domitian's Rome, is well realised and interesting. The story line of the murders, and its resolution, is less gripping. The private detective ("informer") Flavia Albia is a little too sure of herself, and a little too gullible, to be credible. You end up reading the book for the background rather than the plot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2018
It grew on me. While I enjoyed the Falcons series, I found the notion of a wisecracking Roman miss a bit far fetched but stuck with it and quite enjoyed it. Probably not enough to buy any more tho'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2016
Of her detective tales. Having read all the Falco series I was fascinated to read the the first of the new generation books and have not been disappointed. Sorry to see Falco go into retirement and hope to see more
Of him in future stories- Flavia Albia seems to welcome his and her mother's input but its very much in the background. I like her character and look for word to reading more of her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2018
Once again a very good read by a clever author. Snuggle up and read about the goings on in Ancient Rome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2018
Excellent value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2016
Having avidly read all the falco books I was expecting the same level of wit and gripping intrigue that came from L.Davis's writing. However, this book plods along with neither.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Well plotted with colourful characters and a good storyline. Brings the ordinary people of Ancient Rome to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2017
Perfectly adequate & enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse