Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
391
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Wolf in Winter: A Charlie Parker Thriller: 12
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£11.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 October 2017
Started off as, what appeared to be, a very well written murder mystery, with occult undertones. By 70% it had degenerated into a cross between Jack Reacher, Harry Potter & Buffy The Vampire Slayer. A good plot turned into utter crap by pretentious assumed intellectual crap trap. Rubbish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2017
Another connelly masterpiece- totally mesmerising plot -
Detailed, well researched with a disturbing sub plot that is gripping. There is no other writer who has this capacity to take the reader from reality to a different reality with humour, conviction and an uncomfortable sense of truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2014
Although this follows the same themes as previous Charlie Parker novels, for reasons that become apparent if you read the book, Charlie takes a back seat for once and it's left to both Angel and Louis to take matters into their own hands. Therefore, lots of people deservedly die.

The Collector puts in another appearance, but this time, for his own reasons, he allies himself with the two 'gay killers' (the book's words, not mine). Could it be that his human side is coming to the fore?

Another well-written, top-notch story from Mr Connolly. He can product pages and pages of descriptive writing which never bore the reader and the banter between Charlie, Angel and Louis is sharp and extremely witty.

I'm not sure how long John Connolly can keep this series going and where it's going to end, but I for one want it to last for years and years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2017
Quite spine-chilling. I was surprised to learn that the author was not American, so perfectly has he caught the atmosphere of provincial, upstate Maine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2017
I checked other reviews before I wrote this as I didn't want to be a 'spoiler'! A thoroughly absorbing book with a thoroughly unsatisfactory ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2017
Another good read from John Connelly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
Loved this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse