Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 22 April 2017
Written in an accessible style, this could be given to an interested enquirer prepared to think through some of the deeper issues.
There are chapters on Jesus being tempted and in Gethsemane. That does NOT mean it is a heavy read. A number of times it points out where translations have not conveyed the full force of the original language.That I have added indexes for subject and Scripture references shows it's continuing usefulness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
A really good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
I was blown away by this book. More accurately, I was blown away by the One I met in its pages, Jesus the God-man.

In 10 chapters, the author discusses Jesus’ encounters with 10 different people or groups of people. If you’ve been a Christian for any length of time, you’ll probably know these stories well. If you’re like me and have been going to church for years, you maybe know them so well that you’ve lost the wonder of them. If so, read this book! The author opens up these eyewitness accounts in a way that will make your heart sing, as you see the beauty of Jesus in a world full of pain and brokenness.

Tim Keller has an extraordinary ability to apply Scripture. Sometimes preachers and writers do a fantastic job of expounding the biblical text, but fail to answer the all-important question, “So what?” Not so Keller. He shows how Jesus is as relevant today as he was 2000 years ago. You will be challenged, encouraged, shocked and thrilled as you encounter Jesus in the Gospels. This is a Jesus you can’t ignore.

For Christians, this is a real faith-strengthening book. But it’s also a powerful apologetic book that convincingly dismantles secular/humanist ideology, false teaching, and also just plain misconceptions about who Jesus is and what he said and did. If you have a non-Christian friend who has serious questions, and who is willing to have their mind stretched, this book could be for them.

Jesus changed the lives of everyone he met. How wonderful that he’s still alive and changing lives today!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
As always Tim Keller didn't disappoint us. This book helped me to know Jesus in a new way, which I never knew. It gives food for thought and soul. I couldn't stop reading it. Once I finished it, my heart loved Jesus more than ever before! Jesus is so wonderful!!! Thank you pastor Tim for writing this book!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
As with any Keller book this one is top class. Well researched and brilliantly written. Easy to read and understand.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Shattering insights, views and clear pictures of Jesus that I had not seen before.
Really worth getting and digesting slowly.
A great present, easy to read, while academically competent and very worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
A fabulous accessible book ideal for purchasing for non-Christian family and friends or people who have just become Christians and even if you are a mature Christian it will help you to rediscover your first love afresh. Tim Keller is gifted in his exogesis and will leave you wanting more after this read...his sermons are terrific too and watching some of his stuff on the Gospel Coalition is brilliant.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
I always enjoy Timothy Keller's books, and frequently use them as source material for my own sermons. He has a clear, concise way of dealing with complicated issues and this volume, which highlights encounters from John's Gospel, is particularly well constructed. The lectures from which he has based his chapters are also freely available on YouTube, and are a useful supplement.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Well worth the read. Aids honest questions about Jesus and the Christian faith plus encouraging this pilgrim in his own faith.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)