Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2013
Rob Lilwall's second book, Walking Home From Mongolia, is a strange yet compelling beast.

It is, on the face of it, a linear account of an extremely long and admittedly monotonous walk across the full breadth of mainland China. Rob positions the story deliberately as a sequel to Cycling Home from Siberia of some years ago. As with Siberia, the journey will begin somewhere dauntingly remote; rules few in number but clear in scope are set; and in declaring a final destination of Rob's home in Hong Kong the foundations are laid for a simple, gruelling adventure.

Rob is quick to acknowledge that the reality of a journey like this is not necessarily filled with daily spectacles and dramas and epiphanies. Rather, it is a slow trudge accompanied (at least to begin with) by a big intellectual comedown; daily concerns becoming no more complicated than those of nourishment, shelter and companionship -- humanity's primary concerns for the vast majority of history. There are deeper personal rewards to be had, but they are revealed only with time and reflection, and only to those with eyes to see them.

For me, it is these distinctly unglorious aspects of the journey that created such an insightful and enjoyable read -- just as much as the anecdotes of derring-do involving hapless policeman and linguistic confusion and ill-advised forays into fifteen-mile-long road tunnels that make up the bread and butter of such an adventure.

I was left with memorable impression of a journey occasionally enlightening, often challenging and frequently miserable, but one ultimately meeting the author's deeply personal ambitions and representing a unique and unrepeatable chapter in his own ongoing spiritual journey.

If you're looking for a book in which to live out some Far Eastern travelling fantasy, this probably isn't going to be for you. But if a warts `n' all exposé of the challenges faced by a `professional' expeditioner looking for a meaningful journey in a rapidly-changing modern world is a prospect that floats your boat, I can highly recommend Walking Home From Mongolia.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2014
I had bought this book expecting an interesting travelogue, some culture, history and insights. None of that. It's basically two guys walking from Mongolia to Hong Kong (I also didn't realise home meant HK). They eat a lot of instant noodles, they suffer from their own poor planning and meet some friendly people. They're also filming their epic walk for a TV show and about a third of the book is all about getting the right shots etc. Oh and they're using an iPhone with Apple Maps and not Google to chart their course, adventurous indeed. That's literally it. The author cites several other books on China like Colin Thubron (Shadow of the Silk Road) and Peter Hessler (China Driving and more) but those are far better books. Even a light weight like J Maarten Troost's Lost on Planet China is more interesting. In fact, even reading something as out of date as Paul Theroux's Riding the Iron Rooster is a better use of your time and money.

I would however recommend this book for children in their early teens. It's a simple, light weight book about two blokes. Kids who need to acquire a reading habit may enjoy it and there's not a word in it a 13 year old wouldn't understand.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Rob is a captivating and humble writer of some talent . He has gone to places and done things I wud hav loved to have done, but I'm past it at 71. So his books are terrific winter armchair real adventure books . Love em. Lent my sister this book and she is deadly dull , she loved it too.
Obviously as a quiet Christian kind of guy , Rob put his trust in a Father God . That is the main reason he is such a gifted writer and why his adventures were so successful .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Thoroughly enjoyable book. You have to marvel at Rob and his cameraman's incredible journey. It was one of those books that I couldn't put down and looked forward to reading the next chapter whenever I had to leave it.

So much so, that I have ordered the DVD of the film they made whilst staggering across China - and a lot of it was a stagger! I felt very pleased to be reading it at home on my comfortable couch, with little more challenge than making the odd cup of tea in between chapters!

Rob's insights into the Mongolian and Chinese way of life are fascinating and all the more precious for stemming from his intimate and unique journey through difficult and isolated terrain - very often walking where no other westerner had walked before.

Rob deserves huge recognition for what was an amazing journey through incredibly difficult and little visited terrain, meeting folk who sometimes had never seen a "foreigner". Gasps of delight from them, as gasps of delight from me on reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I have twice visited Mongolia to ride horses, and I love this sympathetic people and culture-focused adventure. There are so many anecdotes of interactions with the locals, details about the landscape, the difficult weather conditions and the sometimes infuriatingly slow progress. Well done you guys for completing the walk and keeping faith in yourselves. But how did you ever expect to get away with walking through the motorway tunnel?!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Excellent read, a well written account of not just an adventurer's epic on-foot journey through varied challenges and terrain, but a very interesting look into modern day China and the personal encounters with genuine, hilarious and often generous common-folk Chinese.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
We loved his 1st book and were excited to learn of his new book. We are pleased to say it didn't disappoint. His voice is engaging, humble and generous and warm, in situations that are tough and enlightening and unexpectedly entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Other travel / adventure books I have read have left me feeling inspired - this book did not. It left me feeling rather bored. I'm not entirely sure why either - it seemed bland. Perhaps the adventure itself was actually bland - and hence, it appeared so in the book.

I think perhaps the most grating aspect for me was his continual referral to his 'darling Christine' (his wife) and he could not wait to see her. Pretty much ALL of his elation throughout the entire trip from Mongolia to Hong Kong, was in anticipation and satisfaction of meeting up with his wife along the way. I never once felt that level of enthusiasm for ANY aspect of his trip, so called adventure, however, it didn't FEEL like an adventure. It felt like an obligation. Indeed, as another reviewer has suggested, an obligation to complete the trip to create a film to make himself some money for him (from talks about his 'adventure') and for the charity his wife and he support.

The author also gave the impression that he viewed the trip as being all about himself, and nothing much to do with his travelling companion Leon - who I feel without, the ego of the author might have tipped over the scales were it not for the humour, tolerance and enthusiasm of Leon. So, I suspect also I found the author a little unlikeable.

It is hard to explain why this book left me feeling uninspired. The author tries to inject his emotions into it, he talks of some of the details of the trip such as their diet, their budget, the places they travelled through, people they met, arguments, temperatures and so on. But somehow it's on a level which did not pull me into FEELING any adventure. Just hassle. Just an obligation. An annoyance.

SO I guess it boils down to the author appearing not to have enjoyed any of the trip, other than meeting his wife along the way, and the end. Which, is not inspiring.

But it was a good enough effort. Hence the 3 stars, instead of 2.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This book tempted me for several reasons, but mostly because of the unusual scope of this journey. Crossing the Gobi desert and all of mainland China was a wonderful achievement, and it was fascinating to read how such a vast expedition was possible on such a low spec (relatively) budget. I spend a lot of time outdoors with various people and could empathise with those long repetitive days, the difficulties of spending too much time with somebody and I could also appreciate the end goal. Great read with interesting insights into Mongolian and Chinese culture, great humour and a clear thirst for adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
The title leapt out at me, a bloke with a name like Rob Lilwall walking home from Mongolia you would assume meant somewhere a bit further away than Hong Kong. Obviously I appreciate its still a long way but the title is misleading from the off. It also appears to be more of a business venture than a trip for the purposes of exploration, culture and insight. Of course I understand that its the same for far superior travel writers like Thubron and Theroux, but at least they don't waste countless pages describing getting funding, trying to get the right shots, dealing with their editors etc. There is hardly any insight into the places they are walking through and you very quickly get the impression that the author is just a self obsessed egotist and not a very nice person. They clearly didn't plan the trip very well and seem to rely on iPhones, laptops and a completely unnecessary constant reference to a faith in Cristianity that is neither expanded upon nor particularly tested. I ended up hating the author for wasting my time and gave up before the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)