Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
35
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2013
There aren't many people better qualified to write about the extremes of human survival than Kevin Fong. His engaging and enthusiastic personality comes across as he brings to life human stories from the edge on every page.

As a final year medical student I found the medical aspects particularly interesting and of course relevant to starting work as a doctor in a few months' time. But there's plenty for everyone here - the science is made accessible throughout the book and regardless of your background or area of interest the whole book is captivating. He covers survival in the cold, diving, trauma and of course space exploration with much more besides. I can't recommend it highly enough to anyone with an interest in medicine, space, human exploration or even just science in general. You'll love it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Dr Kevin Fong tackles some complex medical concepts, in an interesting and engaging way. It is a must read for anyone with an interest in science or medicine. As a medical student this book is highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
I dont read many books but this book is by far my favourite. The chapters are both insightful scientifically and simply as stories.

If you have ever been curious about some of the trials that lead to leaps in medical understanding this is the book for you.

Definitely a book I would read again (as a programmer this takes a lot for me to admit to...).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
A great book, difficult to find something not to fascinate you in here. Not written in an overly technical or intellectual style, so accessible to many readers, but still intelligent. It would be hard to dislike the author as well, although this is about communicating knowledge about the body in unusual and extreme circumstances - he isn't deliberately setting out to be personally approved of, I think. Yes, read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
This book away a really good mix of history, medicine, curious and unexpected stories.

Would heartily recommend it to anyone with a level of curiosity and interest in the people, stories and insight involved in the development of medicine and the survival of unique individuals
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
As an aspiring medic I read and watch anything 'doctor' related! Having watched Dr Fong's 'Extremes' documentary, I had high hopes and this book did not disappoint! The stories are educational and gripping, and the science behind the medicine is explained very well - easy to understand but not 'dumbed down'. I've learnt so much! I thoroughly recommend it for anyone with an interest in medicine or science.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
As a student nurse with an interest in trauma, and having watched Kevin Fong's TV shows Extreme A&E and How To Avoid Mistakes in Surgery, I thought I might like this book...So glad I bought it, I have found it incredibly interesting and complicated things are well explained.

Fantastic book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Having a similar childhood dream of flying in space with Dr Fong, reading the book is much like discovering the career I did not choose but wish I had. Like Dr Fong I grew up in a Cantonese family emigrated to the west. Unlike Dr Fong I didn't possess the capacity to study science of living after learning the science of the dead. After reading the book I really wish I had fought for the chance to study it.

Dr Fong's experience in presenting medical knowledge in understandable and personable fashion makes the book very interesting and inspiring. The book brilliantly relates medical science with real life cases and product is an easy to read medical book for the public with thrilling stories to make for exciting reading. After reading the book I crave for similar reading to expand my horizon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
"Extremes" by Dr Kevin Fong may be non-fiction, but the characters and stories contained within it are so extraordinary it can be hard to accept they are true. But true they are. This book encompasses Kevin Fong's twin loves of space exploration and the frontiers of medicine.

Fong's first book is intelligent and informative, and is illustrated by stories of human endeavour that make it entirely grounded and personal. His descriptions are vivid, the stories are gripping, and the science is simply explained.

"Extremes" explores the physiological limits of the body, and how advances in medicine have pushed these limits further and further, paving the way for exploration in extreme environments and saving lives in ways that would have been impossible only a few short decades ago
You don't have to have a degree in astrophysics or medicine to enjoy this book, just an interest in humanity and the human body. In fact it is essential reading for anyone in possession of a human body. That would be me then. And probably you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
This book is fantastic. I approached it with some trepidation expecting a barrage of science and medical terms that I would find impossible understand and while it is true that there is some of that it is the authors gift that he is able to explain these terms in way that a lay person can understand and grasp with relative ease. He tells the story of the onward March of medical science against its greatest foe,death, and how medical pioneers refuse to give in without a fight against the inevitable.
It is clear the author has lived a quite extraordinary life achieving much in what is his pursuit for the knowledge of what it is that makes the human body so fragile and yet so resilient in the face of the perils of existence, and he considers what is needed to prolong it when the chances of survival seem slim. It also makes you realize just how lucky you are to make it to old age considering just how much there is out there to get you.
This is a well written , informative book that no one will be disappointed to read and I thoroughly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)