Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
157
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
fabulous book in great condition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
but actually there is a lot of rubbish and not much substance to this book. It is very much a mish mash and for some reason includes food & cooking. Out of everything in here perhaps 2 or 3 are worth making (IMO).

I think a basic craft book without Allsopp on the front cover would have been a better buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I bought this as a Xmas present for a friend who loves it. She's made an amazing amount of things, and I've recently been the recipient of a couple of her home made candles. Wonderful book for crafty people!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
I bought this as a gift for a friend and she was really happy with it thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Brought this as a gift and even I'm seeing results and pretty gifts coming back. Would recommend to mainly first time crafters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
It was a gift but recipient enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2011
There are plenty of craft books out there which can give more (and possibly better) projects on sewing, cross stitch, flower arranging, baking papercrafts etc, but there are very few that draw such a wide spread of crafts together and present them in one book. Designed to tie in with Kirstie's new show on craft, this book presents a really diverse range of projects. It is true to say that those who already have their chosen craft may not find it to their taste, but, for those who would like to dip their toes into other crafts, I think this book is a really good place to start.

The book is divided into the following chapters: Needlcrafts, Textile Crafts, Paper Crafts, Food Crafts, Garden Crats, Flower Crafts and Gift Crafts. In each chapter Kirstie (or her researcher I suspect) gives a brief background to the sections within that craft section - for example: Needlecraft - sewing, embroidery, knitting and quilting. This is then followed by a number of projects. There are some projects that I have really liked and will certainly be trying (one in fact I will start later today), and some that I suspect I will never even attempt, simply because they don't inspire me. On balance there are more projects that inspire than don't.

Projects:

Vintage Bunting, Applique Cushion (really lovely with a hare on it), Embroidered Handkerchief (very pretty but simple design), Table Runner (machine embroidered), Bubble Coasters (knitted in stocking stitch), Stack and Whack Quilt (layer and cut a 'stack' of fabric and then whack it together by hand or machine), Cross Stitch Cushion (Very Emily Peacockish (might be by her as she is mentioned) really lovely sardines in a tin design - this is the one I'll be trying tonight), Devore Silk Scarf, Needlefelt Robin (this little robin has inspired me to try needlefelting - he will be lovely for Christmas), Felt Heart, Natural Dyes, Paper Sculpture Bird (I'll be trying this one for sure - really sweet), Paperbead necklace (paper folding with an old book), Paper Dolly Chain, Snowman Pinata (I'll be making one for Christmas!), Paper Bauble (paper cutting), Greeting Card (rubber stamping), Handmade Paper, Family Scrapbook, Fruit Cake, Ice-cream Balls, Party Jelly, Marzipan Penguins, Banana Cake, Sugar Flowers, Scones, Damson Jam, Pickled Summer Cucumbers, Spiced Pickled Plums, Blackberry Vodka, Carved Window Box, Elderflower Cordial, Mosaic Chair, Birdseed Cakes, Scarecrow, Willow Nesting Box, Petite Floral Exhibit (flower arranging), Table Centre (flower arranging), Garden Wreath, Corsage, Floral Line Design, Seedhead Mirror, Ribbon Rose, Making Perfume (how to make Kirstie's favourite blend of oils - and then yours), Lavendar Bath Creamers, Lavendar Bath Bombes, Silver Button Medallion (lovely simple idea using silver metal clay - requires special items, but a lovely result), Silver Leaf Pendant (silver metal clay again), Decorated Candles.

The projects are really thoroughly explained, step by step, and seem achievable to anyone from beginner upwards. Admittedly there will be considerable outlay if you decide to make everything in the book, buy all the specialist items, and then don't pursue the craft. All in all highly recommended - might not have enough for the committed specialist crafter, but a really good, thorough overview of a wide range of crafts. Well done Kirstie and your team.
44 Comments| 183 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
I am a massive fan of Kirstie Allsopp and although I loved 'Homemade Home' for it's quirky 'Kirstie-ness' even I had to admit that it probably wasn't as good as I had anticipated.
'Craft' is a different matter altogether. Gone are the pages and pages of opinion and in their place are masses and masses of projects!

The best part about this book is it's diversity. there are crafts that I scarcely knew existed outside of school. For example, I would never dream of buying a book on paper-craft, but looking at the projects within the book, I might give it an afternoon of my time!

Featured are a few simple but beautiful projects from all parts of the crafting world from sewing to paper-crafts: it is almost like an introduction, a taster session! I'm sure that if you were to discover that you had a particular liking for one of the crafts, you could buy a book which was substantially more comprehensive; but if Kirstie had intended to provide an overview for 'craft' in general then she certainly has succeeded.

The whole look of the book is so kitsch and seventies, even the layout of the project instructions looks a little old fashioned, but it works and only adds to the charm.
All in all, as a book of crafts as opposed to a specific craft, this is a triumph.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)