Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
46
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2012
Once again one of my favourite writers and cooks has written a great book. A lovely gallop through England providing a potted history of each county with some good humour and the odd personal story thrown in. Cannot wait to see if Clarissa does London and oh what joy it would be if she turned her sights on Scotland. Buy the book. Be entertained. Laugh and enjoy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
Just be thankful you can gallop off the ferry into Hampshire from the Isle of Wight-one day you might need to especially if you try going to festivals! Five stars just to put the record straight and I like the cut of Clarissa's jib
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
I had already read the book and loved it.Most informative, but the exuberance of the writing style is second to none.Hence my purchase as a gift.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
I found this book a fascinating read. I am a fan of Clarissa, I enjoy her style of writing and her humor. The history of the counties is most interesting, especially for a regular visitor to England with a fascination for all the areas. She does not profess to be an historian and so in writing the book she selects various pieces of interest which broaden the reader's knowledge an interest. I give the book a salute.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This is to some extent just what you would expect from Clarissa, honest and down to earth review of what makes each bit of England unique, and in more than just a culinary sense. Read this to find out what you missed by flying/taking the motorway. A celebration of what we (English regions of the UK) are all about: Wassail Clarissa!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
An easy reading book, with some interesting facts about the counties of England as Clarissa works her way around the Country county by county.
I bought the book expecting Clarissa to write about local food etc. and that food would be the main theme of this book but this is not the case and I have to admit to being a bit disappointed about that. However she manages to make historical facts quite interesting and easy to absorb. Most of the historical facts are brought to life by her personal visits to that particular place. She is obviously a widely travelled person with an interesting past.
I possibly should have read her autobiography ," Spilling The Beans" , first. That'll be my next Amazon order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Clarissa brings the beauty of Britain alive with her latest work. The beauty of her beloved England is evident throughout the book. Her description of her driving through Leicester, though controversial to some, is an example of her candid writing and guarantees the reader will find her book a truthful description of her experiences. I would highly recommend this book to anyone!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
What a marvellous writer. Sadly now gone.
Her outlook on life and all it held for her was pragmatic and sensible.
Wonderful lady who did a lot for country folk, this book makes very interesting reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
My wife loves Clarissa's books,always say's they are a great read,prefers these types of books
in preference to her cook books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
I picked up this book expecting it to be a travel book as the sub-title suggests: 'A Gamely Gallop Through the English Counties' ; it is not. What it is is a book packed full of mainly insignificant facts that are not explained well. It is certainly not a travel companion and you would be much better off looking these things up online instead of buying this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here