Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 1 August 2017
Okay, let's get one thing out the way to start with, there could have been a better editing process & there are a couple of typos. A few other reviews have slayed this book because of this.
That said, I'd say to make your own mind up. The story's deeper than most accounts I've seen ot it & should easily be given a chance if you want something that's written grittily as a near eye-witness account of what happened. I personally know one of the men named in the book & a friend knows another, so as far as recollections of the battle go, there's a great amount of detail involved here & the author (who was there) has tried to account for the events from all sides, both at Mirbat, the Jebel & Salalah.
In addition, there's a great deal of background & history of the campaign that led up to this key battle, not to mention that such a critical engagement swung on the balance of a few basic things: the British 25-pounder, a GMPG, some SLR's & one HELL of a lot of grit from some of the best this country has to offer.
So do excuse the typos, a little repetition (because, after all, we ALL have a few phrases that we use habitually, right?) & let the words tell you the story from the eyes of one who was there.
WDW/MDCV
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
This story told about these brave men and there wife's at home is a gripping read and we'll written, gives you a real insight of what really goes on in the SAS. Thanks for sharing Roger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
Having recently visited southern Oman, and the site of the key battle of Mirbat, I was delighted to see this account had been released. I don't normally read military books, but this was really hard to put down. The story includes information on the background to the conflict painting a vivid picture of life in Oman at the time, and the people who lived there. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
Anyone who has read anything about SAS history knows about this battle, and knows as much as in this book.

It is badly written. When the author has exhausted his apparently limited stock of clichés he simply starts from the beginning again.

In between, journalistic hyperbole, artificial emotion and repetitive unsuccessful attempts at creating a dramatic atmosphere result in a short book that is still too long.

There is nothing new here and the brief story has been told much better elsewhere. Many times.
33 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
My SAS nut husband bought me this as a joke birthday present and in order to annoy him I decided to pretend to read it so he couldn't get his hot litte hands on it.
To my utter amazement I actually started really enjoying it!
The subject matter isn't one that would normally appeal, blood and battles and all, but the way its written actually makes it really interesting.
Not too much military hardware detail but the real human story behind the conflict and the men who fought so amazingly bravely against such enormous odds.
So ladies; if you feel like moving outside your literary comfort zone this is definitely the book for you.
11 Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
But I'm a history buff. And I would never recommend this book to anyone.

The writing is embarrassing. Don't there exist proof reading editors anymore?
The Brits is a nation of history buffs, but too often there is more "buff" than taste: This writing made me embarrassed.
If this book is ever printed in a third edition, these changes ought to be done:
1) Use a text editor; find all adjectives and phrases that has a potential of being a cliché. Write them up on a big white board. Make sure none of them is used more than once. And erase the rest from the book.
2) Never write anything a second or third time, as if it is the first time the reader encounters it in the story.
3) Don't try to build up the climax of the book, ...once every second page. It's just transparent and embarrassing. (I feel sorry for the real guys.)
4) Double check all adjectives mercilessly. If you call one guy "brilliant", and four pages later tell how little common sense he had; why did you then use the word brilliant? Was it on a list of adjectives you had to put into the book? Or were you writing for the family? -- It is transparent that it has to be either of the two.

And: Newton never made any laws about thermodynamics. They were made hundred years after he died. Did you mean the second law about thermodynamics, about entropy? Or did you mean Newton's third law, but you had once heard about a "second" law in thermodynamics. Either way, it wasn't very describing on what the next sentences described. -- It was only to impress the reader, wasn't it?
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
This is a must read for all fans of tales of heroism. The battle of Mirbat is well known to people interested in the SAS, but little detail has ever been published of this amazing story.

A great tale well told with typical regiment sense of humour and lack of bull***t READ THIS BOOK and feel humble but proud of what was done by a tiny number of dedicated men against Rorkes Drift type odds. Deserved a handfull of VC's but as the operation was unoffical no open recognition was given.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
This account of the Battle of Mirbat has it's good points. There is a detailed prologue in which the context of the battle is explained. Additionally, the final chapter is a detailed history of post-battle events. The final paragraphs are moving.
The overal thrust of the narrative is difficult to dispute; the SAS & those who fought with them deserve more recognition for their achievement.
However, the narrative is repetitive. One suspects the author wasn't able to obtain too much information about several of the central characters, so he simply repeats what we know about them at various points of the book. The author creates tension at crucial points during his description of the battle, only to diffuse it with largely irrelevant diversions. These have the effect of slackening the tension & frustrating the reader. I also think the editing leaves a little to be desired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
My husband first read SAS Operation Storm earlier this year, just as we were moving out to Oman. Having listened to him recount parts of the story and upon finding myself in Salalah, my interest was fired when we visited Mirbat, the site of the defining battle of the Dhofar War. Straight away, I downloaded the book and for the next three days was unable to do anything, being so captivated by the tale. A heroic, stoic and military humour full tale of 9 "ordinary SAS blokes" using their wits, common sense and every last ounce of determination to fend off a formidable foe in the direst of circumstances. This book had me laughing, crying and seething all at the same time. Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)