Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
53
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2013
The folksy beginning was not what I wanted to read but it did place her life in a context that was, later, shown to be relevant. The rest of her life was captivating revealing a bright mind, a tremendous work ethic, a real concern for the people and special causes.
Irish women need this role model, we need some more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Mary Robinson's early story as an Irish politician then President was interesting enough, but what she really reveals in this book is the endemic bureaucracy and corruption at the United Nations. It was scary to understand how the old guard united to destroy this women because she dared to try to make changes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
A thought book by a person who cares very deeply about people, particularly women. She has great concern about universal rights which is commendable, but I would have liked some reference to corresponding responsibilities..however, I enjoyed reading her book I will commend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
This should be read as a companion to Lean In.
Mary Robinson is a remarkable woman and has subtly pushed boundaries for women and for the underdog since the 1960's. This is an inspirational read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
i remember the cothu awards when i was your personal hostess and the fantastic photo by lucy johnson i was the girl in the black velvet and gold dress it was nice to meet an irish icon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
I enjoyed the read, however toward the end of the book it became a little, dare I say, boring. Mrs. Robinson is an amazing women, but it was a bit self-indulgent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Mary Robinson comes across as a very caring person with a grounded view of life, a good read and a useful secondary source for social historians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Wonderful read and beautifuly written.Definetly recommend to anybody interested in the work of the Irish President.Cant wait for her next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Great read - wonderful woman. I had great difficulty in putting it down. Long may she continue and carry on the good work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book portrayed a wonderful honest person who achieved so much
And also showed how compassionate a person she is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)