Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 January 2018
Very well written and honest account by a genuine legend of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2010
Waited a long time for this book to hit the shelves because I thought it would a give real insight to Revie's Leeds during the glory years. It's a personal journey from his humble Dublin roots to unfulfilled dreams at Old Trafford which highlight some less than complimentary views of both Busby and Shankly. The move to Leeds was a brave decision at the time but was the making of one of the most intelligent and calculating midfield players of the modern game. Lots of personal thoughts,opinions and insights of the players and the game of today and yesteryear make this one of the better football autobiographies of recent years
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2010
A thoughtful and intelligent book about a professional football career in the nineteen fifties, sixties and seventies, with many insights and comments about the big names of that era in football management (Busby, Shankly, Revie, Clough, Nicholson etc). And if you were a Leeds fan in the Revie era, and are in despair at all the nonsense and negativity that has been written about Leeds United under Revie's management, then this book goes a long way to redress the balance. Giles was my favourite Leeds player, and I always thought that he was the brains of the team. Having read the book over the past two days (it's very readable), it's clear that Giles is a clear thinker and an unsentimental commentator on the football world. Well recommended, especially for those who aren't inclined to believe all the rubbish that has been written elsewhere about Leeds United.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2011
This is an honest account of the life of one of the most cultured and yet heavily criticised players of his generation. Giles tells it as it is, putting the boot into those who he feels need it, his description of his departure from Old Trafford is a fascinating insight into the minds of the men who managed the top clubs back then. Players were told what to do and even beloved men like Busby and Shankly are regarded as `company men`, more loyal to those who paid them than those who played for them. His words not mine. Giles makes a case for media bias against the great Leeds team of the sixties and seventies, pointing out that there were plenty of dirty hackers in all the other sides of the day. In much the same way JFK was the only womanising politician and George Best the only drunken footballer, Leeds have been unfairly portrayed as uniquely brutal. What comes across in this book is that John Giles was nobody`s fool and also the influence his father, the original football man had on him. His loyalty and devotion to Don Revie and the Leeds cause is also undeniable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2011
Like a lot of Leeds fans I've waited a long time for something from John Giles and the wait has produced a balanced and thoughtful work. We all know John thinks he was the greatest footballer of all time and I for one do not disagree that he's up there with the best. A good insight into his early years, his time at Manchester and the Revie era make the book interesting and well structured. Its one I'll read more than once.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2011
This was a book I couldn't wait to get my hands on. In the end, I enjoyed it but was also left feeling a little disappointed. While it was absorbing in certain parts - ie the decision to leave Man Utd and join Leeds - it seemed to skirt over other aspects of his fascinating career. This is a good book and well worth a read. But, to be blunt, I don't rank it alongside the very best of sports biogs such as Dunphy's work on Matt Busby or even Alex Ferguson's auto-biography. I would have thought Ireland's greatest footballer deserved a book in the top tier.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2016
Very good book. The majority of the book 230 out of the 310 pages concentrates on Giles time with Man Utd and his glittering career at Leeds. A very honest assessment of the teams and personalities of the times and an interesting angle of how Clough was the wrong man for the wrong club after taking the Leeds job. Well recommended for people interested in the nostalgia when football was played by hard but fair man
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 November 2012
I am always fascinated to read the story of anyone who was associated with the great Leeds United from the mid 60's until Brian Cough in 1974. Very suprisingly Matt Busby let Johnny Giles leave Manchester United. It just goes to show that the great managers don't get it right all the time. Johnny Giles was a brilliant player for Leeds for ten years. He was shabbily treated by the chairman at the end of his Leeds career. Not much of a surprise as this was the same idiot who brought Cough in to manage the team he hated most. The board and Cough did themselves no fa ours during that episode. Leeds were a team of stars that had just won the first division championship. They would not put up with the bullying that he had been allowed to get away with when he took over failing clubs like Derby and Nottingham Forest. Apart from the first few chapters the story is fascinating for any supported of football at that time and especially for Leeds United supporters. We have been waiting nearly 40 years for another Johnny Giles and his mates from that era. I fear we will never see the like again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2011
This is indeed an excellent account of the football career of a great player. It is well written with some excellent photo pages. John comes across as honest and while critical of some aspects of big name managers such as Busby and Shankly he is always fair and expresses the opinions as his views. This is a good read throughout and I particularly enjoyed the insights into who were the hard men of the 60s and 70s, some surprising names came up. As an Arsenal fan I was delighted to read of his respect for the Double winning team of 71.

My only criticism is that the book is too short. I would have liked more information in relation to his team mates and some particular games such as the shock defeat at Colchester in the FA cup. Well worth a read for anyone interested in Giles himself, the great Leeds team or in the football era of the 60s & 70s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2011
John gives an interesting perspective into life in the footballing world. He talks with honesty about past and present players and games, which highlights the difference between the top pro of the past and the molly coddled spoilt stars of today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)