Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2013
This book gives not only the dark side of Sicily that is well known even if not the historic truth is not, it gives another side the bravery of Sicilians who fought the mafia while facing immense danger.
Read this book and if you don't feel for the people whose Government seems to have ignored them, leaving a few brave men to fight on facing almost certain death.
Cannot recommend this book enough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Having been written some 20 years after the events surrounding the most infamous and outrageous strike against the Italian state by the Sicilian mafia, Mr Follain has been able to use the opportunity to clear the speculation and replace it with what are now known to be facts.
An excellently researched piece, probably the definitive account.
Would certainly reccommend it to students of the genre; not so sure that it would make a thrilling read to others that may not have a prior knowledge of the basic background.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I can not fully describe quite how brilliant this book is. I am a massive fan of non-fiction and this is by far one of the best I have ever read. I do not normally read many books on crime but this just stood out to me whilst at a service station. The manner in which it is written is spellbinding even though you know what is going to happen you are on the edge of your seat for the whole journey. The actual subject matter is also fascinating as I had no idea as to the power of the mafia families in Italy. This book is a worthy tale of the amazing courage and bravery of the men and women who fought against monsters when few others were brave or willing enough too! An essential read!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I bought this for my Dad as a christmas present. He read it straight away and said it was brilliant. If this subject interests you I understand it is a great book...may now need to borrow it back to read for myself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
I enjoyed reading most of this book and especially the detailed account of Judge Falcone's incredibly brave efforts to clamp down on the Cosa Nostra in Sicily. The steps taken to try to eliminate him were also vividly described and especially the plot which resulted in the tragic early deaths of himself and his Wife. The twisted values of the Organisation and its malign impact on Sicilian Society in general were well illustrated. However, I felt that the book lost some of its momentum after the death of Falcone, which prevented me from awarding it 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This is a well written book with the narrative delivery like a fictional story. It is exciting and gives a great insight into the events. It deals with the violence of the Mafia but without making it graphic an unnecessary. I would thoroughly recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
This excellent book - an account of the courage and tenacity of a lawyer's determination to bring an end to Mafia activity in Sicily - is one of scholarly research while reading like a fast moving thriller. I couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
This brilliantly researched account of the fight against the Mafia which cost the two main prosevutors their lives is written with pace and style. It takes you into the murky world of the Sicilan Mafia and how it was interwoven with Italian politics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Provides an interesting insight with a gripping first third outlining the work of Jud Falcone and his assassination. The book loses pace after this but it maintains an interesting narrative about this covert world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
This book is about one of the most important events ever in the fight against cosa nostra in Sicily. This is a must- have for anyone studying the mafia or building a library on this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)