Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 January 2014
This is another thrilling instalment in the Empire series and one you should read, especially if you are interested in Roman Britain (Britannia, Albion). Tony Riches always manages to combine a gripping and realistic story with humorous touches that will have you laughing out loud. The relationships between the characters and the way they are written, are very reminiscent of my days in the forces, blunt, funny and a reflection of how it is today, and more than likely, how it's always been to be in a military unit.

I know that a very small minority find the latter debatable, and it puts them off reading this kind of novel, but they are the ones that are missing out. Ancient graffiti and historical texts and even artefacts, demonstrate that Mr Riches version of the ancient world, especially when it comes to the Roman Military, is far closer to fact than their perception. That aside however, The Eagle's Vengeance is an exciting tale and one that I would highly recommend.

If you haven't read his novels before, I would suggest trying the first in the series, Wounds of Honour and if that's to your taste, and I'm sure it will be, try the rest, you'll be in for a treat. An easy 5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2014
The "Eagles Vengeance" was as usual a cracking good read. It follows on from all the other books with a flow that keeps your nose in the book, this was and is a serious 'unputable' downer

Roman Empire 186 AD Antonine's Wall in Britannia. The hunt for the lost Eagle to the North, you can almost smell the swamps of the Forth Delta, (No Mel Gibson Here)

Very well written, Thrilling in the political machinations, brutal in the battles, chuck in a new Baby, what more can a blood thirsty man want in a book.

Being a Scot I was able to almost pinpoint the locations of the places to real locations. Looking forward to the next book, where Cleander will make life very difficult for Marcus, (Just a feeling)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 September 2013
The sixth book in the excellent "Empire" series and author Anthony Riches packs a lot into this one.

The Tungrian cohorts have made it back to Britain and Hadrian's Wall and things are not in good shape. Politics and plots have rooted the existing troops in place and the Tungrians are used on a near suicide mission to go north to beyond the Antoninus Wall to recover a lost legion eagle from the tribes who still bear a grudge from a previous engagement. So we are able to enjoy a strong mix of battle and cunning as the cohorts enter the barbarian's land and face everything from hoards of barbarians to giant dogs and murdering female warriors.

This would be enough but we then get some real big picture Roman politics and bad guys and some resolution to themes that have been running through the books.

It's a big and powerful novel with much to enjoy. A needed shunt on of the story but not losing the many things that make these stories so enjoyable, good historical knowledge (yep, I had never heard of Antoninus's wall), well drawn characters and tightly written plots. It is all good stuff and delivered with style and confidence by the author and ends up being one of the strongest entries in an already very strong and satisfying series.
There is a lot of good stuff dealing with this era and Anthony Riches is up there with the best of the authors doing this kind of thing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 September 2013
This is volume six of Anthony Riches' "Empire" series which take place at the end of the second century AD and will ultimately also cover the first decades of the third century as well. In this volume, the action takes place in AD 184.

The book has the same ingredients as the other previous episodes. It is essentially one of these "swords and sandals" (well, Roman boots anyway!) adventure stories books, but it is one of the better ones, or, perhaps more accurately, one of the ones that I prefer. The main reason for this is because Tony Riches is one of these authors who happens to be just as good as a story teller and as a historian. His historical note on the Antonin Wall (much less well-known than Hadrian's Wall) is rather excellent. His description of the Roman army, the relationships between legions and auxiliaries, between tribunes, centurions and troopers and between senators and equestrians are also well grounded and thoroughly researched.

Some readers might dislike the rather abundant "profanity" in the dialogues, with lots of swearing, slang and biological and sexual terms. One other reviewer took exception to what was seen as a transposition of the behaviour and vocabulary of modern British soldiers. The author certainly has made this assumption, and quite deliberately. However, it does "rings true" and seems rather plausible, to say the least. We do know that Roman soldiers were made to be though, rough and coarse. Assuming they weren't already so when they enlisted, they certainly became so, or else they did not last very long. In modern parlance, you could say that this was part of the "job requirements". Anyway, who expects Roman soldiers, whether legionaries or auxiliaries, to be gentile, nice and sweet, polite and well brought up?

The book does however take a while before the actions (fight against the Venicones tribe) starts coming thick and fast and finishing with Marcus Aquila (our "blue-eyed boy" Eagle) getting at least part of his revenge. The plot and machinations of the Praetorian Prefect Perennis are, to some extent, invented although quite plausible and also partly backed by the sources. The portrait that Tony Riches draws of Emperor Commodus is also a rather plausible one with his unwillingness to rule, his (rather understandable) paranoia and his bout of murderous rage.

Tony Riches has also done something similar to what Harry Sidebottom has done in his recent "Ballista" volume. There is a clear allusion to Rosemary Sutclif's classical Roman novel - another Eagle has been lost and needs to be retrieved. One of the secondary characters in this volume is a camp prefect called Artorus Castus. This was a true historical character who did serve in Britain at about that time, and NOT during the Fifth century AD contrary to what is shown in the film "King Arthur".

So, to a large extent, this one is "more of the same": if you liked the previous episodes, then you know what to expect. You will also like this one (just as I did!), although you might find that the first a hundred pages or so are a bit "slow going". Be aware, however, that it is preferable to read these volumes sequentially, and this is perhaps even more the case for this one.

Four solid stars.

PS (added on 25 September 2013): those wanting to learn more about the Antonine Wall can usefully read Osprey's "Rome's Northern Frontier AD 70-235" which presents just about enough additional context to go with this book to suit the vast majority of readers. Anyway, it worked rather well for me, so I hope it might also work for you...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2013
The 6th book "Eagles Vengeance" was as usual a real good read. It follows on from all the other 5 without any breaks so that despite the long periods between books so soon quickly pick up the thread and are able to follow the theme to a conclusion.

For me they are good stories of the Roman area 186 AD in Britannia. Very well written, brutal in the descriptions of the fights, the caricatures always seem real and alive not wooden as some do. This one was very good and once again was able to almost pinpoint the locations of the places to real locations.

I am not going to spoil the book plot, but it is a good read and to the high standard I have com to expect from Anthony Riches. 6 volumes to date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2013
Perhaps the best in the series this book grabs you from page one. Simply couldn't put it down The pace of this tale never lets up for a moment. Packed with will they won't they edge of seat stuff in every chapter. Good guys, bad guys, evil guys, crafty guys and just plain nasty guys they are all here with a bucketful of blood and guts.

Plus the usual interesting historic facts...............did you know the Romans built a second wall to the North of Hadrian's? This book will tell you why.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2015
Another gripping episode for fans of this era. The story covers a vast amount of ground keeping the reader in suspense as in previous books. This series is excellent and well written. Some soldier humour whilst probably with a little contrived adds realism to the day to day life of these hard bitten warriors on the march. They were certainly a hardy bunch and the written illustrates this fact well in this an all,of the other books in the series. Another book that is difficult to put down once you become absorbed in the tale. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2013
I have read all of the books in the Empire series and enjoyed them all. This one was very good as it took Marcus from a fight at the 'Fang' (I suspect the hill Stirling Castle sits on today) onto Rome and the start of his revenge for the massacre of his family years before. Keep the books coming Anthony!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2013
The sixth book in the series continues the tale. I strongly advise reading these books in order. They bring to life wt was like to be in the Roman army and I look forward to the next in the series.
My only criticism was the last subplot - I'll not reveal anymore - which seemed far fetched and a bit rushed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
This is a part of a great series that gets better with each book. Lots of action and great characters. Really enjoyed it and all the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse