Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 9 March 2012
This novel is the worst I have ever read of Elizabeth George's fiction. One one level we are meant to believe that Lynley's extreme love and devotion to his recently murdered wife is negated when he falls into bed with the nauseating Acting Superintendent woman. It is ridiculous! Also, the said woman is so inefficient that she should be sent back from whence she came, instead of which Lynley pleads for her to be given another try. As if the AC would listen to his pleas anyway. I've thought she (the author)had gone off the boil recently and this proves it. I shall not be reading anything more from her. By the way, why does she persist in people smoking Players cigarettes when I haven't see a Players for years and years. This shows how out of touch she is with this country
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2016
As much as I enjoyed this book, I found some of it very hard to read but it also opened my eyes. Being of the generation who had a 3 yr old son at the same time as Jamie Bulger going missing. This book brought a lot of stomach churning reading, however I loved the book and the setting of the book. I must say I do not like Isabelle Ardery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2018
Best yet n the series lots of intrigue and twists. Keeps reader guessing all the way through. Looking forward to next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2012
Bearing in mind some of the subject matter, this book caught me unawares some and I reacted quite strongly once I realised where it was going. However, the plot line was good, drew you in so that it was very hard to put the book down to go off and do other things.
I would recommend it but if you get upset easily or find that your imagination works rather too well and you have problems getting rid of images, you may want to think twice. Not for the faint-hearted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
I have read all the Lynley books, in order, as far as this one, and particularly like the way the characters have developed. To me the people seem realistic in terms of their relationships with others and their actions. And the stories are good, never following a formula.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2018
Really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2017
I can't enough of these books it will a sad day when I've read the last one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2013
It is a few years since I read one of these but I quickly picked up on the usual characters and enjoyed the plot although I found the eventual relationship between Lynley and his boss very unlikely and hard to fathom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2016
Great price, great service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2014
I enjoyed reading this book. It arrived quickly, in good condition and was very reasonably priced. I think Elizabeth George is a very good writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse