Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 11 July 2017
A sort of prequel to Outpost where the extraterrestrial virus from the first novel makes it's first appearance on Earth. In North Iraq. In a remote base which is filled with the steely undead. As per other reviews it reads more like a thriller where mercenaries are looking to seal a deal which will mean that they will never have to work again. Suffice to say, it is far from plain sailing.

Ray Smillie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2012
The book is basically Good just a shame that it was released after outpost, more of a sand box military thriller with horror thrown in, than a post apocalyptic book.
Some really nice well likeable characters good plot line and well paced very reminiscent of Matthew Reilly books.
I am looking forward to the 3rd book hopefully be more of a mix of book one and two.

A good weekend read with little complain about could be better could be a lot worse, worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
Second book I've read by this author. Really intense thriller, nicely written, short chapters. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who hasn't read Baker before
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
OKish. This series is a bit to blokey for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2017
Found it difficult to stop reading this, as it whips along at such a cracking pace. Started off as a regular thriller then became a thriller/horror. Great story, well told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Juggernaut is the tale of a band of mercenaries, who head to the remote Iraqi Valley 403 in order to pick up one of Saddam's bullion caches. When they arrive, it's clear that this place is more than just a remote gold-depot; the ancient citadel riddled with bullet-holes and ankle-deep in brass casings suggests that something is amiss. As the truth unfurls, it becomes clear that this place should have stayed forgotten, but will any of them make it out alive?

Adam Baker writes extremely well and has managed to engineer his second novel as a prequel to his first - the excellent Outpost - whilst remaining canon. His style is succinct, with numerous short-sentences that maintain pace & conveys urgency. He remains fixed in reality for the majority of the book, name-dropping real-world brands of weapons, ammunition and places but with a major twist that is an interesting take on an increasingly threadbare pop-culture vein.

Well written, kept me guessing and I steamed through the 400-odd pages like the eponymous juggernaut as a result - highly recommended for a thrilling pulp-read!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
`Outpost' by Adam Baker was a fantastic science fiction novel about a group of people trapped on an oil rig as the world is overcome by a mysterious plague. Throughout the book only vague hints are given as to the nature and origins of this disease. Baker is back and is revisiting this same world in `Juggernaut' a prequel of sorts which explores another groups' run in with the disease and explains more about what exactly the plague is. Whilst `Outpost' was a tense `The Thing' like experience about how normal oil workers met their fate; `Juggernaut' is the `Aliens' of the series, as hardened mercenaries go up against the threat.

As well as having a deep and interesting science fiction concept at its centre `Juggernaut' is also a cracking good action thriller. For a science fiction writer, Baker does not dwell on the supernatural elements in his book, but instead builds up a very real world of Iraq in the mid 90s. There is no shying away from the bleak nature of war and the type of people involved in this story, Baker is able to create a truly evocative world and merely happens to place a science fiction/horror story in the middle.

`Juggernaut' takes a while to warm up, but Baker uses this time to explore the characters. He is a strong writer, even outside the more genre aspects of the book, so reading about characters' past military exploits is a joy. The only time this looking back became tiresome was as the book works towards its conclusion and some in-depth information is passed on about the origins of the disease. Personally, I loved the fact that the enemy was enigmatic; knowing more actually detracted slightly from them.

With a one two punch of `Outpost' and `Juggernaut', Baker is establishing himself amongst my favourite genre writers. I look forward to a future instalment.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 January 2013
I've been looking forward to getting to this (from the large pile of books waiting for me to read them). I thoroughly enjoyed Adam Baker's first novel, Outpost, to which Juggernaut acts as a prequel.

This is a totally brilliant book - I think that the short, staccato sentence structure in a novel like this works really well - it serves to convey the urgency, the immediacy of the action. I noticed that in some sections of the book, for instance when Jabril is talking about the earlier lead-up to the current action, his sentences are longer, more structured. This shows the deliberate nature of the shorter sentence structures in the immediate action scenes.

And there is plenty of action! The story seems straight-forward enough - hearing of potential gold secreted in the desert ahead of the Allied force incursion into Iraq, a group of mercenaries head out there to see if they can hold of the treasure. But what they find there is beyond their wildest imaginings. And the horror is only just beginning ...

This leads well into the earlier book Outpost (which is, of course, set after Juggernaut). In fact, I found that Juggernaut was a more sophisticated, more intelligent book than Outpost, much as I had enjoyed the earlier book. I sincerely hope that there is a sequel coming along which takes the story beyond the end of Outpost - are you listening, Mr Baker?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 January 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I had never read anything by Adam Baker before but he is now on my must-read list of authors.
I could hardly put this book down. The plot is racy and exciting involving two groups of battle-weary, mis-matched mercenaries who are hoping to make the last one a big one. In order to find Saddam's hidden gold the group has to venture into a remote area of the Western desert.

Unknowingly, the group is being manipulated and vital information is kept from them. What does become very apparent as they arrive at their destination amongst the ancient ruins is that something is definitely not right.

There's quite a few twists and turns in the plot and I don't want to say too much in case I become a spoiler but suffice to say, this is a really thrilling book, there's lots of action and gore and the ending itself is brilliant.
Finally, being female myself, I especially enjoyed the female characters who are portrayed very well by Baker and reminded me that a large number of female combatants were sent to Iraq on active duty.

I see that Adam Baker's previous book, Outpost, has excellent reviews so I am off to order it now.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Impact
£7.44

Need customer service? Click here