Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
116
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2012
I'd been eagerly awaiting the kindle release of Up Beat and Down Dale and it didn't disappoint.

I've thoroughly enjoyed all Mikes books. He has a lovely way with words and is able to craft a story in a way that engages you from the start. Nice to see the return of Soapy,Algy,Walt et al along with the tales of the criminal goings on in North Yorkshire.it's not all about criminals though with some lovely tales of missing people found and of his colleagues, career progression and the lovely wife who keeps him in his rightful pace.

With an easy wit, and a very human side to him Mike is just the sort of copper you'd like helping you, unless you're a criminal of course and it would no doubt be no more Mr Nice Guy. The story was left with an open ended feel so hopefully there will one day be more tales from him, I'm sure he has lots more of interest to tell us.

My only disappointment is that I was so engrossed that I read it quickly! Only just published and I want to know when the next one will be out!!!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Ordered for my grandma, she really enjoyed this book. Will be ordering more for her
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
As part of a set sent as gift, the feed back has been that they were great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Mike has produced another edition to a fantastic series. Such was my excitement for Up beat & down dale that I couldn't wait for it to be released in stores and snapped up a copy on pre-release from Amazon. He displays a unique method of telling a tale whilst making it feel personal to the reader. As a result, the reader can feel what Mike did why he did. I look forward to the next instalment whether it be with Birdy, Fordy, Jayne and Thommo or a prequel series from his days in the big smoke's TSG. Don't make us wait too long Mike! Up Beat and Down Dale: Life and Crimes in the Yorkshire Countryside
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Such an interesting read. Funny at times but serious when describing policing challenges. Puts into perspective what our protectors have to deal with and the emotional toll it can take. I even imagined myself to be in Yorkshire!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
Arrived 26th August 2017. In very good condition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
i thoroughly enjoyed Mike Pannetts most recent book 'Upbeat and Down dale' i am sad that its the last in the series, Mike has a way of writing which makes you feel you know the characters and its easy to build up a picture of what they look like . I look forward to the next series of his time spent in the met. police force when he was a lad fresh out of college. I hope the series can live up to his Yorkshire series.Very well done mike and all the best with your future books
J. Lloyd
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2017
Great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Not bad reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
This was another excellent read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)