Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 September 2017
iam a fine of gervase phinn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Author is a very entertaining writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Very entertaining read, really enjoyed it..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
A really good read and a convincing follow up. Anyone who has worked in schools will recognise the 'interesting' characters who work at Barton-In-The-Dale school. It is obvious that Mr Phinn has a wide ranging experience of what makes up the average staff - good and not so good. I look forward to the next book to see what happens when the amalgamation actually takes place and to the success of the lady in the red shoes - a girl after my own heart.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
Volume two in what will hopefully be a long series of books telling the story of a fictional school in the Yorkshire Dales, this is an amusing but realistic story, obviously drawing on the author's lifetime experience as a School Inspector. If you enjoyed the first book, then you will love this sequel.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
The story is entertaining This is a book that allows the reader to escape to a simpler time and place.
Sadly tbhe Kindle version is a let down and I am somewhat annoyed with Amazon for not having more effective quality control measures in place. This version uses American words/spelling and the Oxford dictionary does not work when you check definitions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Trouble at the village school, Good story but must be read in right order of story, I would recommend both books
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
As always a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Having previously enjoyed the first of this series by Gervase I was really looking forward to reading his second offering. I was not disappointed. The characters are so well drawn that you feel you actually know them and as with the first book I love the apt names he has given each person in the village. The story drew you along and thankfully all the characters ended up as I hoped they would. I was a little surprised to find myself actually feeling a little sorry for Miss Sowerbutts in this book. I hope the village books do not end here as I'd like to see how Danny and some of the others progress.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse