Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2017
Very good compendium of some of his best yarns. Two notably hilarious stories were,"the airline traveller in a hurry at Checkin and the doorstep political canvasser.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Top marks to Gervase Phinn for his humorous take on retirement. His poem should be compulsory at all weddings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Arrived early. Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Love Gervase Phinn's books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Another relaxing easy read full of Gervase Phinns humour .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
As good as all his other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
If you like Phinn's books and have read his others, then you've read 95% of this one. What a waste of time and money. How about a new book.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
I have read Gervase Phinn's previous books and have to agree that the vast majority of this book has been in previous ones.
I would not recommend buying it as it gives the impression that he is scraping the bottom of the barrel for tales to tell.
What a disappointment.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you want witty observation that looks back from the everyman's point of view, then you really have to read Gervase Phinn's books. Told from an Ex-Teacher, School Inspector and public speakers memories, the general observations really do hit the mark with you so much so that you'll find yourself chuckling along on his journey.

It's definitely something unique and whilst we're not talking comedian humour here we are talking about a title that will make you laugh. There is definitely something for everyone within this title with excerpts that everyone of a certain age will identify as well as appreciate. All in a fun novel and one that the odd wedding speech may borrow from with ease.

Finally, if you get the chance to meet Gervase at a signing or a talk, take the opportunity, it's a wonderful night out, you'll laugh and a great night out will have been had. If you're worried, take a friend, they'll find it as funny as you and soon be a fan of the author. A man who can truly talk the birds from the trees.
22 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Saw Gervase Phinn on stage in Scotland this year (2011). Superb raconteur and marvellous writer who makes his characters, particularly children, come alive on the page. Just about the only writer I know who makes me laugh out loud and inwardly weep for the occasional child who has a rough time in childhood. As a Yorkshire Lass myself I can even understand, and speak, the Yorkshire dialect he intermittently writes in. You can always tell "outsiders" because they have no concept of the glottal "t"! He uses it to great effect for those of us in the know...

His use of words generally is phenomenal and I envy his skill in the "mot just" for all occasions.

If I had a criticism it would be that many of his encounters are repeated almost verbatim in his other books but as his writings are books to be read and read again, this is just a small matter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here