Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2011
Spearheading this year's trend for Nordic and Scandinavian cuisine, Signe Johansen's Scandilicious has been one of my favourite books of the year, so much so I've renewed my library copy SIX times now and will inevitably buy it when they forcibly remove it from me.

The styling is effortlessly, well, stylish with graphic printed linens and ceramics. My top recipes are Jarlsberg and fennel muffins, Daim cake and the blackberry, almond and cardamom cake. Plenty of dinner and snack dishes in here too, there is a fair amount of baking but not limited to that - roll on Scandilicious Baking coming out July 2012, I hope it's as delightful as her first book.

Foodies have been praising Nordic/Scandi cuisine for a couple of years now but possibly 2012 will see this type of cuisine go mainstream at a more upmarket level than mere Ikea cafe.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
This is an excellent introduction to Scandinavian baking - particularly those delicious pastries which are often disappointing when bought from a British bakery. Much better fresh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
This book is a kitchen treasure. You might be wondering whether recipes created by a former Fat Duck chef would be complicated and fussy, but these are fresh and simple, without any tricks or gimmicks, and yet still sophisticated in taste.

There's really no downside here at all. The book is gorgeous in design and production, so it would make a lovely gift. The food is appealing and healthy. Many of the recipes are relatively quick, and the lengthier ones - baking etc - look well worth the effort.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I was disappointed in this book. It's certainly well done and well written, but you've got to have a sweet tooth... It's organized by meal : breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon cake, dinner and desert. This list gives you some clues at what's wrong here... Except for lunch and dinner, the rest is only sweet recipes : drinks, jams, cakes, pastries etc... For lunch ? it's only sandwiches... So that leaves you with dinner, which is way too short... You want fish recipes ? It's mostly seafood : prawns, shelfish, and smoked salmon/trout. She rarely uses fresh fish, and it's mostly healthy food. Basically you never see a real appetizing meal... The cakes certainly look gorgeous, but that's all. Oh and you won't find any of the Scandinavian cheeses outside of Scandinavia so a list of substitutes would have been nice... I actually think Jamie Oliver did a better job at make his readers want to eat Scandinavian in Jamie Does...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
sadly I did not find this as exciting as I hoped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
To think that I once thought that cinnamon toast was just cinnamon sprinkled on buttered toast! Check out this Nordic recipe with strawberries and cream. I also love the way the brunch section starts with a recipe for Scandinavian Bloody Mary. And it's started me baking with spelt flour. It is also a beautiful book to browse through and helpfully gives alternatives for any ingredients hard to find in the remoter areas of the UK. Hope anyone who buys it gets as much pleasure from it as I have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
This is a fantastic book to dip in and out of, particularly when you are looking for something a little unusual. The book is beautifully presented with great photography.

The recipes are well constructed and easy to follow and should allow all cooks to create interesting, tasty dishes.

A must if you are entertaining Scandinavian friends, or indeed any lovers of good home cooked food.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
One of the best Scandi food writers who understands us Brits and blends that into lovely Nordic food!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
This book is beautifully put together and provides a flavour (excuse the pun) for Scandinavian food. With the wealth of spice and comfort in the recipes I will enjoy working my way through the recipes during the forthcoming dark and cold months!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
Very inspiring book. Love the recipes, have already used the jam ones, and the gratin. Lovely to read, pictures great. Worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)