Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 July 2014
Excellent book - pitched at the perfect level for 4th/5th year medical students studying for finals, or even for lower years who are studying for systems exams (e.g. Aberdeen, Dundee, etc). Easy to sit down and read whole chapters, and the information is easier to digest than the barrage of facts thrown at you by the Oxford Handbook. It's perhaps not as comprehensive as Davidson's/Kumar & Clark and other surgical texts, but this book will cover the vast majority of what you need to know about surgical conditions at an undergraduate level.

- 4th year medical student
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2015
Really good overview of lots of different topics, great for starting a general surgery rotation and the book my tutor recommended. A good level of details without being overwhelming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2014
Very good book for exam revision. Covers all the key points in a concise manner. Definitely worth the price! Best book for general surgery for students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2011
This was recommended to me by junior doctors before my finals and was essentially the only surgical textbook I used. It is great for giving an overview of all the topics, whilst still providing enough detail to impress where needed.
The latest edition sees the content totally updated and everything now in full colour. The revised diagrams, layout and colour really bring the book to life, making it even more readable then previous editions. The structure and content remains as ever: concise, approachable but with all the information you need.
All in all, the ultimate surgical text.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2011
There are few books that medical students will read cover to cover in order to grasp essentials and salient points of the individual topics; lecture notes in general surgery is a book you must definitely read from start to finish: an appealing, updated, comprehensive and well-organized text covering all essential aspects from pre-peri-post operative assessment, fluid balance through to common surgical conditions and management, well complemented with illustrations. Buy it without hesitation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2013
This is a very well written book which is very easy to read. The information is all pitched at the right level for Finals. Essentially, if it was not in the book, you do not need to know it for finals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2011
An amazing, interesting and comprehensive textbook. It explains all the topics very well, even those that I never managed to understand. I absolutely recommend it !!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
I have quite a few books from this series now; they're perfect for rotations (just for looking up the generic stuff you'd need to know while sat in clinic). It covers the majority of the topics you'd see on a rotation in relative detail & is easy to understand. Great for medical students!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
I would have given a more positive review, if the the products were made of better quality material or the workmanship was better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)