Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
72
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2013
This book is useful for supplementing knowledge of grammar, vocabulary and spelling. It covers the correct use of English including syntax but also some of its peculiarities -eg idioms. With the inclusion of a grammar element within SATs papers, the testing of grammar, punctuation, spelling and context within many multiple choice 11plus papers, I suspect that this book would be useful to parents and teachers alike.

It is a great shame that at the time of writing this review the book which provides answers was proving difficult to source.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
VERY good book. Used for my daughter 11+ prep. Do not let the sellers fool you into paying more g or the 'original' version. The 'Color' version is exactly the same..
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I found this book addictive as there was so much in it and my friend and I enjoyed testing each other on the numerous general knowledge questions. There is so much content that is so useful for the would be writer like myself. It can only be described as
brilliant and together with the Answers book it is perfect.

I'd definitely recommend the book for certain.

Posting times excellent as always for Amazon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Excellent, a mine of English language knowledge, of grammar and its explanations. A book every child/adult should have. My brother had a much earlier version as a schoolboy 50 years ago and there has been a " First aid in English" in the family ever since.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
I had been looking for the original version as it brought back great memories of my school days. I could not find one at a realistic price so opted for this one. Great fun, great memories and essential for a basic understanding of the complexities of the english language. Happy with my purchase and excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
I bought this guided by the motto 'Every Little Bit Helps'. Well, this book has proved to be much more worthwhile than I bargained for. It's one of the few that have managed to achieve continuous engagement with the intended target- an energetic 7 year old! Everything is explained in a simplistic coherent fashion that subtly dwells on core objectives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
First Aid In English is a staple book I have used as a teacher for many years so I bought this book for my granddaughter to help her with her revisionn in GCSE English. Brilliant! She thinks it is "tops!" It is just as goodnas ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I bought this for my kid and she loves it! It is great for teaching guide in english! It is very easy to read. Also it was delivered very fast! I would definitely recommend this!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
I read and studied from this book as a child and bought this copy for my granddaughter as it is truly excellent as a teaching guide in English language. No home with children should be without one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Excellent book, but answers have to be bought separately!! What a con! In the original the answers were at the back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)