Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2016
I'd like to start off by saying don't listen to your teacher when they say you need wider reading and to use the big textbook for an A grade.

A level Religious Studies is not difficult with the right resources. Unfortunately, there are many poor resources out there. A very good example of a very bad resource is Jill's textbook version of the revision guide. It over complicates theories, uses complex sentence structures and gives far too much detail when considering the exam is only worth 70 marks over 2 topics.

A level Religious Studies does not have to be complicated - and this guide is what you need to make life considerably easier. As long as you provide application of the theory and perhaps a little of your own evaluation, it's easy to get 30/35 marks using the knowledge in the guide alone.

I used the AS version of the guide last year and managed to get the highest UMS in the class - I don't say that to brag, I say that to save you from getting bogged down in the awful textbook which many used mistakenly thinking it would help.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
These books helped vastly with my revision. They are concise enough to not be overwhelming, but still include a great amount of detail.
What I liked most about these books were the summative comments at the end of each topic, and also the side notes, including: 'Examiner's tip', 'Now test yourself', and 'Typical Mistake'. These side notes help to tighten your revision, and to fix any misconceptions you may have.
To conclude, these books are designed to aid in your revision, and are geared towards achieving great results in the exam, and I would definitely recommend them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
This is an ideal summary of all the main areas of the A2 Ethics course. It is clear and straightforward and does exactly what a revision guide should do. Makes everything clear, concise and show how it can be applied to the exam. It is a shame that unlike other Revision Guides by this publisher it does not include sample essays with comments but on the whole this should not stop you from getting it. Well worth the investment and it will make revision so much easier for any student.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Really useful book, perfect for A Level RE students and great reading too, accessible, straightforward. Recommended for students of Religious Sturies and or philosophy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
This book is great, has everything you need to pass your exam. Could be in a little more detail, I used different textbooks to annotate around information but has basic points, evaluation and applied evaluation. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
This keeps me in order to which topics and their sub-headings would be very vital in the exam!
The tick boxes reminds me to do all the topics, not forgetting anything
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
My son found the book very helpful, all the info he needed apparently. A good buy, well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Jill Olliphant is the head examiner of this subject for OCR, so her notes are likely going to be related to the mark scheme and what the exam expects. The larger textbook however obviously covers a lot more, and this brings in other topics and subjects. I would suggest googling 'Jake Does Revision' as his blog holds a lot of notes about both the Ethics and Philosophy of Religion sections. I find that if you haven't looked at the textbook for a while, this may hold some completely new things which distract you from basic concepts so this is best used in conjunction with notes from a larger textbook.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Really great for revision. I got an A* in this at A level so it worked for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
Very useful. Achieved A grade in Philosophy A level!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)